Library Services
Business Source Premier offers access to 1,022 active full-text journals. It is a popular resource found in many business research settings worldwide.
E-books dedicated to the study of business.
LearningExpress has ebooks, tutorials, and practice tests to improve academic and workplace skills, explore careers, and prepare for occupational certification exams. It also offers resources to help you prepare for college, join the military, become a U.S. citizen, earn a high school equivalency, and much more.
Regional business publications for the United States and Canadian provinces. Contains current coverage and dates going back to 1990.
Includes small business reference books and tools to understand small business topics, including videos, case studies, help and advice, a start-up kit, and tips for writing business plans.
This self-contained monograph reports the recent approaches, methods and practices of technology-enabled personalized learning. It serves to provide some useful references for researchers and practitioners in the field in conceptualizing and deploying personalized learning.
Discover the ins and outs of personal finance--in a language you can actually understand--with these clear, straightforward definitions and explanations of all things finance from income and assets to credit, loans, and debt, to stocks, bonds, money markets, and more. The personal finance book you wished you had in school! Managing your money is not an easy job, and it's made even more complicated by the specific terminology used in personal finance. Reading through a loan agreement, credit card terms and conditions, or a stock market report can leave even the most financially responsible people wondering what exactly does this mean? Now, Personal Finance in Plain English has the answers. You'll find straightforward explanations of 350 personal finance terms ranging from banking and taxes to credit cards, student loans, and mortgages, to stock, cryptocurrency, retirement planning, and more. This quick, easy-to-use glossary teaches you what the term means, how the concept works, and how it is used. Read through the chapters for a solid primer in personal finance or refer to specific definitions as needed when reviewing your financial documents. Take control of your financial goals and master the complex language of finance with Personal Finance in Plain English.
Sustainability and its competitive advantage are the goals of every company and any brand that wants to stay successful in the marketplace. Customers also gravitate to brands that manage sustainability issues well. Greener Products: The Making and Marketing of Sustainable Brands written by a renowned sustainability expert, continues to address the latest developments in the extremely fast-moving field of sustainability. The third edition is thoroughly updated, introduces new case studies, and includes a new chapter on green marketing. With over 40 case studies, it explores the best practices of leading global companies and helps readers learn what it is that makes them successful. New in the Third Edition: Presents, in a practical way, the best practices of sustainable brands in a global economy. Addresses the most current sustainability topics like circular economy, plastics in the environment, biodiversity, climate change, green chemistry, etc. Includes current marketing information on consumer trends to purchase greener products. Incorporates the latest pressures on companies to address sustainability, retailer programs, business-to-business expectations, ESG raters, rankers, and stock funds. Covers best practices of companies from various industries on how to make and market greener products. Provides current tools for making products more sustainable and methods on how to market sustainable improvements. Includes lecture slides available upon request for use in the classroom. This book serves senior undergraduate and graduate students in programs focused on sustainability, as well as academics and corporate sustainability leaders. The previous versions have been used to teach courses on sustainability, product improvement, introduction to sustainability, green marketing and sustainability, and sustainability policy. Any university that teaches a course on sustainability and any company or individual interested in making and marketing more sustainable products would benefit from the new edition of this book.
A bold new account of the state of globalization today--and what its collapse might mean for the world economy After the Cold War, globalization accelerated at breakneck speed. Manufacturing, transport, and consumption defied national borders, companies made more money, and consumers had access to an ever-increasing range of goods. But in recent years, a profound shift has begun to take place. Business executives and politicians alike are realising that globalization is no longer working. Supply chains are imperilled, Russia has been expelled from the global economy after its invasion of Ukraine, and China is using these fissures to leverage a strategic advantage. Given these pressures, what will the future of our world economy look like? In this groundbreaking account, Elisabeth Braw explores the collapse of globalization and the profound challenges it will bring to the West. Drawing on interviews with prominent executives and policymakers from around the world, Braw poses the difficult questions all businesses and economies will face--and traces the intricate story of globalization from the exuberant '90s to the embattled present.
What if everything we understood about gun violence was wrong? In 2007, economist Jens Ludwig moved to the South Side of Chicago to research two big questions: Why does gun violence happen, and is there anything we can do about it? Almost two decades later, the answers aren't what he expected. Unforgiving Places is Ludwig's revelatory portrait of gun violence in America's most famously maligned city. Disproving the popular narrative that shootings are the calculated acts of malicious or desperate people, Ludwig shows how most shootings actually grow out of a more fleeting source: interpersonal conflict, especially arguments. By examining why some arguments turn tragic while others don't, Ludwig shows gun violence to be more circumstantial--and more solvable--than our traditional approaches lead us to believe. Drawing on decades of research and Ludwig's immersive fieldwork in Chicago, including "countless hours spent in schools, parks, playgrounds, housing developments, courtrooms, jails, police stations, police cars, and lots and lots of McDonald'ses," Unforgiving Places is a breakthrough work at the cutting edge of behavioral economics. As Ludwig shows, progress on gun violence doesn't require America to solve every other social problem first; it only requires that we find ways to intervene in the places and the ten-minute windows where human behaviors predictably go haywire.
Nvidia is as valuable as Apple and Microsoft. It has shaped the world as we know it. But its story is little known. This is the definitive story of the greatest technology company of our times. In June of 2024, thirty-one years after its founding in a Denny's restaurant, Nvidia became the most valuable corporation on Earth. The Thinking Machine is the astonishing story of how a designer of video game equipment conquered the market for AI hardware, and in the process re-invented the computer. Essential to Nvidia's meteoric success is its visionary CEO Jensen Huang, who more than a decade ago, on the basis of a few promising scientific results, bet his entire company on AI. Through unprecedented access to Huang, his friends, his investors, and his employees, Witt documents for the first time the company's epic rise and its single-minded and ferocious leader, now one of Silicon Valley's most influential figures. The Thinking Machine is the story of how Nvidia evolved to supplying hundred-million-dollar supercomputers. It is the story of a determined entrepreneur who defied Wall Street to push his radical vision for computing, becoming one of the wealthiest men alive. It is the story of a revolution in computer architecture, and the small group of renegade engineers who made it happen. And it's the story of our awesome and terrifying AI future, which Huang has billed as the 'next industrial revolution,' as a new kind of microchip unlocks hyper-realistic avatars, autonomous robots, self-driving cars, and new movies, art, and books, generated on command. This is the story of the company that is inventing the future.
A smart, page-turning exploration of the business and creative decisions that transformed Taylor Swift into an unprecedented modern cultural phenomenon. Singer-songwriter. Trailblazer. Mastermind. The Beatles of her generation. From her genre-busting rise in country music as a teenager to the economic juggernaut that is the Eras Tour, Taylor Swift has blazed a path that is uniquely hers. But how exactly has she managed to scale her success--multiple times--while dominating an industry that cycles through artists and stars like fashion trends? How has she managed to make and remake herself time and again while remaining true to her artistic vision? And how has she managed to master the constant disruption in the music business that has made it so hard for others to adapt and endure? In There's Nothing Like This, Kevin Evers, a senior editor at Harvard Business Review, answers these questions in riveting detail. With the same thoughtful analysis usually devoted to iconic founders, game-changing innovators, and pioneering brands, Evers chronicles the business and creative decisions that have defined each phase of Swift's career. Mixing business and art, analysis and narrative, and pulling from research in innovation, creativity, psychology, and strategy, There's Nothing Like This presents Swift as the modern and multidimensional superstar that she is--a songwriting savant and a strategic genius. Swift's fans will see their icon from a fresh perspective. Others will gain more than a measure of admiration for her ability to stay at the top of her game. And everyone will come away understanding why, even after two decades, Swift keeps winning.
When it was released to the public in November 2022, ChatGPT awakened the world to a secretive project: teaching AI-powered machines to write. Its creators had a sweeping ambition--to build machines that not only could communicate but also could do all kinds of other activities, and better than humans ever could. But was this goal actually achievable? And if reached, would it lead to our liberation or our subjugation? Vauhini Vara, an award-winning tech journalist and editor, had long been grappling with these questions. In 2021, she asked a predecessor of ChatGPT to write about her sister's death, resulting in an essay that was both more moving and more disturbing than she could have imagined. It quickly went viral. The experience, revealing both the power and the danger of corporate-owned technologies, forced Vara to interrogate how these technologies have influenced her understanding of herself and the world around her--from discovering online chat rooms as a preteen to using social media as The Wall Street Journal's first Facebook reporter to asking ChatGPT for writing advice--while compelling her to add to the trove of human-created material exploited for corporate financial gain. Interspersed throughout this investigation are her own Google searches, Amazon reviews, and the other raw material of internet life--including the viral AI experiment that started it all. Searches illuminates how technological capitalism is both shaping and exploiting human existence while proposing that by harnessing the collective creativity that makes humans unique, we might imagine a freer, more empowered relationship with our machines and, ultimately, with one another.
The Psychology of Leadership offers a fresh take on leadership through the lens of groundbreaking research in positive, sports, and personality psychology. Witty, conversational, and personal, The Psychology of Leadership blends research, fascinating true stories, humor, and self-improvement advice to deliver simple yet powerful principles to master the mental game of leadership. Leaders will develop what feels like mind-reading abilities for interpreting workplace personalities, hidden motivations, and group dynamics. They will learn how to inspire their organization to move mountains, improve their ability to listen, communicate and, when necessary, persuade. Along the way they will dramatically improve their own mindset and resilience.
The incredible saga of the German-Jewish immigrants-with now familiar names like Goldman and Sachs, Kuhn and Loeb, Warburg and Schiff, Lehman and Seligman-who profoundly influenced the rise of modern finance (and so much more), from the New York Times best-selling author of Sons of Wichita Joseph Seligman arrived in the United States in 1837, with the equivalent of $100 sewn into the lining of his pants. Then came the Lehman brothers, who would open a general store in Montgomery, Alabama. Not far behind were Solomon Loeb and Marcus Goldman, among the "Forty-Eighters" fleeing a Germany that had relegated Jews to an underclass. These industrious immigrants would soon go from peddling trinkets and buying up shopkeepers' IOUs to forming what would become some of the largest investment banks in the world-Goldman Sachs, Kuhn Loeb, Lehman Brothers, J. & W. Seligman & Co. They would clash and collaborate with J. P. Morgan, E. H. Harriman, Jay Gould, and other famed tycoons of the era. And their firms would help to transform the United States from a debtor nation into a financial superpower, capitalizing American industry and underwriting some of the twentieth century's quintessential companies, like General Motors, Macy's, and Sears. Along the way, they would shape the destiny not just of American finance but of the millions of Eastern European Jews who spilled off steamships in New York Harbor in the early 1900s, including Daniel Schulman's paternal grandparents. In The Money Kings, Schulman unspools a sweeping narrative that traces the interconnected origin stories of these financial dynasties. He chronicles their paths to Wall Street dominance, as they navigated the deeply antisemitic upper class of the Gilded Age, and the complexities of the Civil War, World War I, and the Zionist movement that tested both their burgeoning empires and their identities as Americans, Germans, and Jews.
From the bestselling author of College Unbound comes a hopeful, inspiring blueprint to help alleviate parents' anxiety and prepare their college-educated child to successfully land a good job after graduation. Saddled with thousands of dollars of debt, today's college students are graduating into an uncertain job market that is leaving them financially dependent on their parents for years to come--a reality that has left moms and dads wondering: What did I pay all that money for? There Is Life After College offers students, parents, and even recent graduates the practical advice and insight they need to jumpstart their careers. Education expert Jeffrey Selingo answers key questions--Why is the transition to post-college life so difficult for many recent graduates? How can graduates market themselves to employers that are reluctant to provide on-the-job training? What can institutions and individuals do to end the current educational and economic stalemate?--and offers a practical step-by-step plan every young professional can follow. From the end of high school through college graduation, he lays out exactly what students need to do to acquire the skills companies want. Full of tips, advice, and insight, this wise, practical guide will help every student, no matter their major or degree, find real employment--and give their parents some peace of mind.
There are many career options for people who like social media. This book explores what it's like to be a content creator, social media manager, customer service representative, and digital forensics investigator. Job descriptions, required training, tips for getting started, and future directions for each career are included.
There are many career options for people who like gaming. This book explores what it's like to be a video game artist, animator, video game writer, and programmer. Job descriptions, required training, tips for getting started, and future directions for each career are included.
Advances in Generative Artificial Intelligence (GAI) have created a new class of computer systems that exhibit astonishing proficiency on a wide variety of tasks with superhuman performance, producing novel text, images, music, and software by analyzing enormous collections of digitized information. Soon, these systems will provide expert medical care; offer legal advice; draft documents; write computer programs; tutor our children; and generate music and art. These advances will accelerate progress in science, art, and human knowledge, but they will also bring new dangers. Have we finally discovered the holy grail of AI - machines that match or exceed human intelligence? Which industries and professions will thrive, and which will wither? What risks and dangers will it pose? How can we ensure that these systems respect our ethical principles? Will the benefits be broadly distributed or accrue to a lucky few? How will GAI alter our political systems and international conflicts? Are we merely a stepping stone to a new form of non-biological life, or are we just getting better at building useful gadgets? Generative Artificial Intelligence: What Everyone Needs to Know® equips readers with the knowledge to answer these pressing questions.
An indispensable look at the next frontier of technological advancement and its impact on our world Generative AI is rewriting the rulebook with its seemingly endless capabilities, from crafting intricate industrial designs, writing computer code, and producing mesmerizing synthetic voices to composing enchanting music and innovating genetic breakthroughs. In Generative AI in Practice, renowned futurist Bernard Marr offers readers a deep dive into the captivating universe of GenAI. This comprehensive guide introduces you to the basics of this groundbreaking technology and outlines the profound impact that GenAI will have on business and society. Professionals, technophiles, and anyone with an interest in the future will need to understand how GenAI is set to redefine jobs, revolutionize business, and question the foundations everything we do. In this book, Marr sheds light on the most innovative real-world GenAI applications through practical examples, describing how they are moulding industries like retail, healthcare, education, finance, and beyond. You'll enjoy a captivating discussion of innovations in media and entertainment, seismic shifts in advertising, and the future trajectory of GenAI. You will: Navigate the complex landscapes of risks and challenges posed by Generative AI Delve into the revolutionary transformation of the job market in the age of GenAI Understand AI's transformative impact on education, healthcare, and retail Explore the boundless potentials in media, design, banking, coding, and even the legal arena Ideal for professionals, technophiles, and anyone eager to understand the next big thing in technology, Generative AI In Practice will equip readers with insights on how to implement GenAI, how GenAI is different to traditional AI, and a comprehensive list of generative AI tools available today.
This book establishes a strong foundation by explaining core concepts like operating systems, networking, and databases. Understanding these systems forms the bedrock for comprehending security threats and vulnerabilities. The book gives aspiring information security professionals the knowledge and skills to confidently land their dream job in this dynamic field.This beginner-friendly cybersecurity guide helps you safely navigate the digital world. The reader will also learn about operating systems like Windows, Linux, and UNIX, as well as secure server management. We will also understand networking with TCP/IP and packet analysis, master SQL queries, and fortify databases against threats like SQL injection. Discover proactive security with threat modeling, penetration testing, and secure coding. Protect web apps from OWASP/SANS vulnerabilities and secure networks with pentesting and firewalls. Finally, explore cloud security best practices using AWS to identify misconfigurations and strengthen your cloud setup.The book will prepare you for cybersecurity job interviews, helping you start a successful career in information security. The book provides essential techniques and knowledge to confidently tackle interview challenges and secure a rewarding role in the cybersecurity field.
Boost your coding output and accuracy with artificial intelligence tools Coding with AI For Dummies introduces you to the many ways that artificial intelligence can make your life as a coder easier. Even if you're brand new to using AI, this book will show you around the new tools that can produce, examine, and fix code for you. With AI, you can automate processes like code documentation, debugging, updating, and optimization. The time saved thanks to AI lets you focus on the core development tasks that make you even more valuable. Learn the secrets behind coding assistant platforms and get step-by-step instructions on how to implement them to make coding a smoother process. Thanks to AI and this Dummies guide, you'll be coding faster and better in no time. Discover all the core coding tasks boosted by artificial intelligence Meet the top AI coding assistance platforms currently on the market Learn how to generate documentation with AI and use AI to keep your code up to date Use predictive tools to help speed up the coding process and eliminate bugs This is a great Dummies guide for new and experienced programmers alike. Get started with AI coding and expand your programming toolkit with Coding with AI For Dummies.
Learn how to simplify your life with AI in this essential guide -- now fully updated and revised, with even more ideas to spark creativity and boost efficiency The ChatGPT Revolution is the ultimate quick-start guide to unlocking the power of generative AI. We're on the edge of an AI revolution ... but what does that mean for you? It's time to get curious about how the latest tech can help you handle your everyday load, at work and at home! Whether you're overwhelmed by repetitive, time-consuming tasks or you're simply looking for a fresh injection of creativity, ChatGPT has got your back. With this essential handbook, you'll learn how quickly and easily apps like ChatGPT can turn your to-do list into a ta-da list. From emails and reports to planning your next meal or vacation, generative AI can help you simplify your daily tasks and responsibilities. The ChatGPT Revolution shows you exactly how to use this innovative tech to save on time and stress. Sharing practical tips and fun ideas, acclaimed productivity expert Donna McGeorge unpacks everything you need to know. Learn how generative AI is already being used in everyday life -- and how tools like ChatGPT are transforming the future of work and life admin Understand the different tasks that AI tools like ChatGPT, Copilot, and DALL-E can do -- and when and how to use these tools most effectively Get step-by-step advice for writing smart, specific prompts and follow-up queries to produce better results Discover tips for using ChatGPT on the go, with the mobile app and voice and photo capability Take control, revitalise your workflows, and overcome procrastination and creative blocks -- with entertaining examples and activities for work, home, creative writing, and more Whether you're a busy professional or you simply want an answer to the dreaded question 'What's for dinner?,' The ChatGPT Revolution reveals how generative AI can make your life easier. AI technologies are here to stay. This is your invitation to join the revolution. Pick up this book and learn how to harness the power of AI, so you can free up more time and energy for the things that truly matter.
Web designers work with technology, but do not always have college degrees. This book explores the field of web design, the training involved in becoming a web designer, what the job is like, and what the future holds for the field.
Cybersecurity specialists work with technology, but do not always have college degrees. This book explores the field of cybersecurity, the training involved in becoming a cybersecurity specialist, what the job is like, and what the future holds for the field.
Computer support specialists work with technology, but do not always have college degrees. This book explores the field of computer support, the training involved in becoming a computer support specialist, what the job is like, and what the future holds for the field.
Artificial intelligence is quickly changing the way people work, interact, and live. This book explores how AI has already affected the workplace, how it will impact work in the future, and the concerns people have about these changes. A description of what AI is and how it works is included along with experts' predictions of how the technology will continue to evolve.
How can I take a data-driven approach to company culture? What should I measure and which metrics should I focus on? How can people analytics and behavioural science impact culture? Based on insights from the largest ever behavioural research study which examined the organizational impact of 220+ behaviours from 60 organizations, across 61 countries, Culture Analytics provides an evidence-based approach to organizational culture. It outlines the leading and lagging culture indicators, explains how to identify actionable insights from your people and culture data as well as how to apply predictive analytics to company culture. There is also guidance on the 30 employee behaviours which have the most impact on company culture and how to apply behavioural science interventions to drive these in your organization. The second part of the book covers key areas where culture analytics can be applied to drive business performance. These areas include talent acquisition and retention, employee engagement, EDI (equity, diversity and inclusion), wellbeing, psychological safety as well as resilience, strategy, innovation, change management and risk. Full of practical advice, this book also includes real world examples from Barclays, Pfizer, American Airlines, EDF Energy, Saudi Telecom Company, Cisco and Ethiad Airways. Making the complex world of people analytics and behavioural science accessible and applicable to all senior HR professionals and business leaders, Culture Analytics shows how to take a robust, evidence-based approach to company culture to drive workforce and organizational performance and deliver tangible business value.
An indispensable guide to help companies navigate the new era of ethical challenges and risks in a volatile global landscape. Today's headlines teem with employee unrest over racial injustice, communities infuriated by corporate environmental impacts, staff anxiety over surveillance, public outrage over corruption in business, and discoveries of child labor in supply chains. We've traveled far and fast from the old world of business ethics, where black-and-white concerns about bribery and fraud could be addressed via rules and processes. Simply maximizing shareholder value while not breaking the law is no longer a tenable approach, but we've never been so confused about what it means to do the right thing--and why it's so important. In this eye-opening, essential book, NYU Stern ethics professor Alison Taylor argues that amid stakeholder demands and transparency pressures, we can no longer treat ethics as merely a legal and reputational defense mechanism. Leaders at Davos and the Business Roundtable have called for a new corporate responsibility paradigm, but organizations struggle to implement these ideas in an atmosphere of heightened expectations and intense suspicion. Offering vivid stories and examples from years working in anti-corruption and advising companies on ethics, Taylor brings this complex, risky environment alive to provide a blueprint for how leaders can rethink and reshape their practices. How can CEOs cut through the noise to set robust environmental and social priorities? When should they speak out on contentious social and political issues--and how? What does it really take to build a healthy organizational culture? How are we to approach corporate values when society itself is so divided? Higher Ground shows leaders how business can navigate this messy paradigm shift, build trust, and achieve long-term strategic advantage in a turbulent world.
Keep valuable data safe from even the most sophisticated social engineering and phishing attacks Fighting Phishing: Everything You Can Do To Fight Social Engineering and Phishing serves as the ideal defense against phishing for any reader, from large organizations to individuals. Unlike most anti-phishing books, which focus only on one or two strategies, this book discusses all the policies, education, and technical strategies that are essential to a complete phishing defense. This book gives clear instructions for deploying a great defense-in-depth strategy to defeat hackers and malware. Written by the lead data-driven defense evangelist at the world's number one anti-phishing company, KnowBe4, Inc., this guide shows you how to create an enduring, integrated cybersecurity culture. Learn what social engineering and phishing are, why they are so dangerous to your cybersecurity, and how to defend against them Educate yourself and other users on how to identify and avoid phishing scams, to stop attacks before they begin Discover the latest tools and strategies for locking down data when phishing has taken place, and stop breaches from spreading Develop technology and security policies that protect your organization against the most common types of social engineering and phishing Anyone looking to defend themselves or their organization from phishing will appreciate the uncommonly comprehensive approach in Fighting Phishing.