Library Services
Online newspaper for college and university professional information.
Digital access to fiction and nonfiction children's eBooks published by Cricket Media and covering various subjects.
Includes classic literary works, important historical documents, general reference materials, and popular eBooks for high school students. Generally not intended for college research.
A collection of multidisciplinary juvenile fiction and non-fiction e-books.
eBbooks covering a wide range of topics such as self-help, fitness, games, hobbies, and cooking, featuring titles for adults and juveniles. Generally not intended for college research.
eBooks for community college students and individual eBooks purchased by the library to help you with your class assignments and research projects.
This e-book collection contains thousands of high-quality open access (OA) e-books from the world’s most trusted university presses and scholarly publishers.
Literature and resources about education, provided from the U.S. Department of Education. Contains indexed and full-text materials.
LearningExpress has ebooks, tutorials, and practice tests to improve academic and workplace skills, explore careers, and prepare for occupational certification exams. It also offers resources to help you prepare for college, join the military, become a U.S. citizen, earn a high school equivalency, and much more.
MAS Complete contains full text for hundreds of popular magazines and e-books covering news, politics, science, sports, culture, and more. It includes primary source documents and videos from the Associated Press.
Provides access to popular middle school magazines, reference e-books, and primary source documents and videos. Subjects include history, current events, science, and sports.
Each book description includes reviews, awards, reading and lexile level, genre, style, themes, read-alikes, and connections to diverse reads.
Designed for elementary school libraries, with children's magazines and images.
For elementary school students. Reference ebook content, such as dictionaries and encyclopedias.
For years, Dr. Laura Hubbard listened to the stories of adult students with ADHD and co-occurring mental health issues who summoned the courage to enroll in college only to be met with roadblocks and disappointment in their pursuit of a college degree. With limited research on academic support deliberately designed for these specific students, she began a deep dive into the field of complex adult learners. Drawing from her own experiences as well as the experiences of students and fellow professors, she presents a highly specialized program to meet the needs of these adults.
In Perspectives on Academic Support: Adults with ADHD and Mental Health Challenges, Hubbard relates the struggles of adult students with ADHD and co-occurring mental health issues to help transform the landscape of higher education. Utilizing the perspective of students, and the professors who support them, Hubbard teaches students and professors how to meaningfully engage in transformative practices of support, offering students, families, and educators a path forward.
What is executive functioning? How does it affect learning? Executive functions (EFs) are a group of complex mental processes and cognitive abilities required to organize thoughts and activities, prioritize tasks, manage time efficiently, make decisions and regulate our behaviour and emotions. They do not reach maturity until an individual is well into their 20s, and so teachers and educators have enormous potential to help pupils hone those skills so that they are better equipped for the process of learning. But what do you do if it's impaired? This guide includes a step-by-step approach to improving executive functioning within the classroom and beyond. It will provide effective strategies to use in daily life, and show teachers how to enhance awareness in the classroom, as well as giving students activities to do, to develop their own skills.
A compelling history of the learning style concept and how it was shaped by shifting ideas in psychology, anthropology, and education. The widely embraced notion that we all process information in one of three distinct modes--visual, auditory, or kinesthetic--has informed educational practices for decades. In recent years, however, numerous studies have questioned the effectiveness of aligning instruction with the alleged learning styles of individual students. So, why is it still commonplace in the literature on beneficial teaching at all levels of education? In You Are Not a Kinesthetic Learner: The Troubled History of a Dangerous Idea, historian Thomas Fallace traces the origins, evolution, and history of the learning style idea, demonstrating its relationship to a legacy of unequal education for children of color. Fallace argues that the research supporting the learning style idea was problematic from its inception in the 1910s and that it was used to label and justify a diminished curriculum for many Black and Latine students, whose cultural differences were perceived as weaknesses. In recent years, numerous empirical studies have not found the approach to be effective. This fascinating history clearly shows the danger of sorting and labeling students with permanent style identities and makes a strong case for removing learning styles as the basis for any educators' instructional toolkit. The first book-length history of learning styles, You Are Not a Kinesthetic Learner encourages us all to consider the research, be open to future developments and updates, and question even our most intuitive assumptions.
This self-contained monograph reports the recent approaches, methods and practices of technology-enabled personalized learning. It serves to provide some useful references for researchers and practitioners in the field in conceptualizing and deploying personalized learning.
"Why College Matters to God is a brief, easy-to-read introduction to the unique purpose of a Christian college education. It has been widely used by Christian colleges and universities over the past decade because of its unsurpassed ability to be substantive yet accessible. The book draws on the insights of a wide range of Christian philosophers, theologians, historians, and scientists, but communicates key concepts in straightforward language that connects with a general audience. Brief enough to be paired with other texts, Why College Matters to God is an ideal introduction to the why and how of Christian learning for students, faculty, staff, and parents. The third edition preserves the qualities of the previous editions along with updated illustrations and new material on important topics such as: Christian learning and the challenges of technology, Christian vocation, career preparation, and the liberal arts, Diversity and civility on campus, and The habits of the highly effective college student.
Exposes the forgotten origins of the student loan system, how politicians have attempted to fix it, and the life-altering damage borrowers face. Student-loan horror stories are a dime a dozen. But students today are faced with a seemingly insurmountable paradox: Research consistently shows that the clearest viable option to financial stability is a college degree. But if and when Americans decide to pursue diplomas, student loan payments quickly follow, and even after securing full-time employment, many borrowers struggle to make ends meet for years. In Sunk Cost, journalist Jillian Berman explores how the nation's student loan program went from a well-intentioned initiative aimed at helping low- and middle-income students afford college to one that traps borrowers in long-term debt. Berman interviewed dozens of borrowers and policymakers and dug into the archives to unearth the true causes of the student loan problem. A couple of generations ago, policy makers generously subsidized Americans' college educations because they knew it would be advantageous for the entire country: a more educated population meant better quality of life for all. But today, higher education is viewed as an individual goal, so students and their families are expected to be on the hook for it themselves. Berman explains how this enormous shift happened, which industries benefit from it, and what it means for college-going Americans today. She shares real-life stories of college graduates who are being crushed under some of the harshest consequences of the student loan system. These borrowers pursued higher education in hopes of a better life and yet some have been trapped in debt for decades, making it difficult to put food on the table, much less imagine a life beyond debt. By connecting personal accounts to the policy history of student loans, Berman makes clear that if American society continues to push students toward higher education, but fails to truly subsidize it, the financial strain will become unbearable for all but the most privileged. The current system is broken, but Berman proposes that significant changes are possible, and will require political will from state lawmakers and Congress, along with a philosophical shift, to tackle one of the largest consumer finance challenges of our time.
In 1988, Jonathan Kozol set off to spend time with children in the American public education system. For two years, he visited schools in neighborhoods across the country, from Illinois to Washington, D.C., and from New York to San Antonio. He spoke with teachers, principals, superintendents, and, most important, children. What he found was devastating. Not only were schools for rich and poor blatantly unequal, the gulf between the two extremes was widening--and it has widened since. The urban schools he visited were overcrowded and understaffed, and lacked the basic elements of learning--including books and, all too often, classrooms for the students. In Savage Inequalities, Kozol delivers a searing examination of the extremes of wealth and poverty and calls into question the reality of equal opportunity in our nation's schools.
Resonant Minds: The Transformative Power of Music, One Note at a Time invites readers to reimagine music as a dynamic, interactive force that reshapes how we live, learn, and connect. By blending personal stories-recalling childhood car rides where "Ode to Joy" was joyfully reinvented with animal noises and made-up words-with cutting-edge research and practical insights, the father/daughter writing team, Sara Leila Sherman and Mort Sherman, PhD, help us understand how to use music intentionally. Featuring a distinct approach, this book includes interactive QR codes that bring the music to life. This immersive journey reveals how integrating mindful listening action-whether breathing with Bach or shaking it off with Taylor Swift-can reduce stress, boost creativity, and strengthen communities. With a foreword by Goldie Hawn and praise from thought leaders like Doris Kearns Goodwin and Bena Kallick, Resonant Minds is a call to transform our everyday musical experiences into a source of joyful, life-changing action, one note at a time.
Unleash powerful teaching and the science of learning in your classroom Powerful Teaching: Unleash the Science of Learning empowers educators to harness rigorous research on how students learn and unleash it in their classrooms. In this book, cognitive scientist Pooja K. Agarwal, Ph.D., and veteran K-12 teacher Patrice M. Bain, Ed.S., decipher cognitive science research and illustrate ways to successfully apply the science of learning in classrooms settings. This practical resource is filled with evidence-based strategies that are easily implemented in less than a minute--without additional prepping, grading, or funding! Research demonstrates that these powerful strategies raise student achievement by a letter grade or more; boost learning for diverse students, grade levels, and subject areas; and enhance students' higher order learning and transfer of knowledge beyond the classroom. Drawing on a fifteen-year scientist-teacher collaboration, more than 100 years of research on learning, and rich experiences from educators in K-12 and higher education, the authors present highly accessible step-by-step guidance on how to transform teaching with four essential strategies: Retrieval practice, spacing, interleaving, and feedback-driven metacognition. With Powerful Teaching, you will: Develop a deep understanding of powerful teaching strategies based on the science of learning Gain insight from real-world examples of how evidence-based strategies are being implemented in a variety of academic settings Think critically about your current teaching practices from a research-based perspective Develop tools to share the science of learning with students and parents, ensuring success inside and outside the classroom Powerful Teaching: Unleash the Science of Learning is an indispensable resource for educators who want to take their instruction to the next level. Equipped with scientific knowledge and evidence-based tools, turn your teaching into powerful teaching and unleash student learning in your classroom.
Use this user-friendly guide to build collaborative and equitable classrooms (7th grade-college). This teaching guidebook will help educators navigate emerging best practices to center historically marginalized voices and perspectives in middle, high school, and postsecondary learning spaces. The author provides an accessible blueprint for utilizing histories, culturally responsive teaching, and community responsive pedagogy to build collaborative and equitable classrooms. Inspired by research steeped in oral histories, Bunch brings forth lessons from educators, merged with voices of students, to share impactful classroom practices. The un/HUSH framework asks us to unlearn the "hush" often associated with marginalized histories and stories. The framework considers the following guiding principles: (H) using histories not told to inform teaching practices, (U) unlearning behaviors and practices that do not empower marginalized voices, (S) creating classrooms and spaces that allow for stories to be shared, and (H) encouraging healing to occur from connection, collaboration, and relationships. Part narrative, part guidebook, The Magnitude of Us harnesses the collective power of us to improve outcomes for students. Book Features: Guidance for novice and veteran teachers, with elements specifically designed for preservice educators. The use of histories and student voices to inform best practices for creating lessons and activities for middle, high school, and college classrooms. A teaching framework for amplifying student voices through perspective sharing and cultural responsiveness. An abundance of user-friendly scaffolding, graphics, lesson plans, and resources for implementation. A foreword by Dr. Joyce Ladner, civil rights activist, educator, and sociologist. Poetry by renowned poets Ashley M. Jones, Emily Pettit, Claudia Rankine, Mary Ruefle, Evie Shockley, Jordan Stempleman, Cole Swensen, and others.
This volume documents the experiences of international students and recent international initiatives at US community colleges to better understand how to support and nurture students' potential. Offering a range of case studies, empirical and conceptual chapters, the collection showcases the unique curricula and diverse opportunities for career development that colleges can offer international students. International Students at US Community Colleges addresses issues of student access, enrollment barriers, college choice, and challenges relating to integration in academic and professional networks. Ultimately, the book unpacks institutional factors which inhibit or promote the success of international students at US community colleges to inform faculty, student affairs, administration, and institutional policy. With international students' declining enrollment, this book considers the measures being taken by community college officials to bring continued access and equity to international students. Offering insights from a range of international scholars as well as on-the-ground case studies, this text will benefit researchers, academics, and educators with an interest in multicultural education, international and comparative education, and higher education management. Those specifically interested in educational policy and the sociology of education will also benefit from this book.
From the bestselling author of College Unbound comes a hopeful, inspiring blueprint to help alleviate parents' anxiety and prepare their college-educated child to successfully land a good job after graduation. Saddled with thousands of dollars of debt, today's college students are graduating into an uncertain job market that is leaving them financially dependent on their parents for years to come--a reality that has left moms and dads wondering: What did I pay all that money for? There Is Life After College offers students, parents, and even recent graduates the practical advice and insight they need to jumpstart their careers. Education expert Jeffrey Selingo answers key questions--Why is the transition to post-college life so difficult for many recent graduates? How can graduates market themselves to employers that are reluctant to provide on-the-job training? What can institutions and individuals do to end the current educational and economic stalemate?--and offers a practical step-by-step plan every young professional can follow. From the end of high school through college graduation, he lays out exactly what students need to do to acquire the skills companies want. Full of tips, advice, and insight, this wise, practical guide will help every student, no matter their major or degree, find real employment--and give their parents some peace of mind.
For most teens, graduating from high school feels like a finish line. But choosing which path to take next can be overwhelming. It helps to become informed about the options and know how to narrow them down to fit your personal goals. Filled with practical advice about preparing for the future now, deciding whether or not to pursue post-high school education, paying for college or career training, and setting goals along the way to make the journey easier, this book covers career planning, the cost of education, and how to approach the future with a mindset that will set you on the right path.
There are many career options for people who like sports. This book explores what it's like to be a sportscaster, athletic director, exercise physiologist, and someone working in public relations for the sports industry. Job descriptions, training required, tips for getting started, and future directions of each career are included.
How college faculty and staff can help students "hack" their college experience through a proactive, personalized approach to success. College is a complex, high-stakes game, according to authors Ned Scott Laff and Scott Carlson, but students can learn how to win it. Hacking College offers college advisors, faculty, and staff in student and academic affairs a groundbreaking guide to rethinking higher education so that students can succeed in an increasingly complex world. Drawing from extensive research and real student experiences, this essential book exposes the hidden challenges and bureaucratic traps that undermine student success, from convoluted transfer processes to a single-minded emphasis on majors. Each chapter provides actionable strategies to help advisors lead students to tailor their education to their aspirations. Through vivid case studies, Laff and Carlson advocate for a proactive approach to education--encouraging students to "hack" their college experience by crafting a personalized field of study. This method challenges the traditional focus on declaring a major and empowers students to link their personal interests with academic pursuits so that their education aligns with future career and life goals. Enriched with insights on how to find underutilized institutional resources and foster meaningful mentor relationships, Hacking College encourages students, educators, and institutions to transform passive educational experiences into dynamic journeys of discovery and self-fulfillment.
A framework for improving students' critical reading skills using five questions to ask any text.
An optimistic yet practical assessment of how postsecondary education can evolve to meet the needs of next-generation learners With keen insight, Kathleen deLaski reimagines what higher education might offer and whom it should serve in Who Needs College Anymore? In the wake of declining US university enrollment and widespread crises of confidence in the value of a college degree, deLaski urges a mindset shift regarding the learning routes and credentials that best prepare students for success after high school. The work draws on a decade of design-thinking research from the nonprofit Education Design Lab as well as 150 interviews of educational experts, college and career counselors, teachers, employers, and learners. DeLaski applies human-centered design to higher education reform, engaging the perspective of end users to search for better solutions. She highlights ten top principles based on user feedback and considers how well they are currently being enacted by colleges. In particular, she urges institutions to better attend to the needs of new-majority learners, often described as nontraditional students, including people from low- or moderate-income backgrounds, people of color, first-generation students, veterans, single mothers, rural students, part-time attendees, and neurodivergent students. She finds ample opportunity for colleges to support learners via alternative pathways to marketable knowledge, including bootcamps, skills-based learning, and apprenticeships, career training, and other types of workplace learning. This work suggests innovation as a means of evolution.
This fully revised ninth edition continues to offer teachers practical advice on new evidence-based approaches for teaching and managing students with a wide range of abilities, disabilities, and difficulties. Based on topical international research from the field, this new edition provides practical advice for teachers and tutors to enable them to adapt evidence-based methods when working in inclusive settings with students with special needs, including gifted and talented students. Throughout the text, approaches to teaching and classroom management have been clearly described. New methods, programmes, and interventions are reviewed, and there is increased coverage of digital technology and e-learning. Teachers will also find support and guidance for working with students with learning difficulties in literacy and numeracy, teaching students with physical, sensory and intellectual disability, fostering students' autonomy, social skills interventions, approaches to autism spectrum disorders, and much more. All new information in every chapter is fully supported with reference to the most recent writing and research. This continues to be an invaluable resource for practising and trainee teachers, tutors, teaching assistants, and other education professionals responsible for supporting students in inclusive schools.
A fresh understanding of today's political divide. Dr. Craig Wiener, a clinical psychologist for over forty years, approaches the current political divide from a desire to understand the differences between opposing political ideologies, and to create space for multiple points of view in highly charged political discussions. Utilizing an innovative way to conceptualize the two main viewpoints driving American politics, Dr. Wiener discusses how the people holding these perspectives may view, respond to, and interact with highly contentious political issues such as poverty, racism, the patriarchy, and family life. In assessing these issues, he proposes solutions for managing the interpersonal conflicts that occur within our tense political atmosphere. Backyard Politics is a must-read analysis of today's political landscape and a proposed way to overcome our intense differences.
How far are we willing to go in the name of "better sport"? Athletes have long sought to push the limits of human potential, but the advent and application of new knowledge, science, and technologies has taken elite sports into uncharted territory. It's no longer enough to break records, today's sport is about athletes surpassing their "natural" limits in the name of accomplishing the impossible. With highlights across the spectrum of professional athletics from ski jumping to horse racing, Regulating Bodies narrates the global scientization of the sports industry and the lasting influence of protective sports policies on international discourses around race, sex, identity, and impairment. While these classifications are designed to protect athletes' wellbeing in the spirit of fair play, protective policies can be shallow solutions to deeper problems, offering the appearance of care while failing to safeguard athletes from more pressing concerns. Regulating Bodies investigates the development of protective policies across topics such as gene doping and sex testing to show how current policies impede the progress of athletic development by engendering unethical and unhealthy practices at the expense of an athlete's individual rights. It offers a pathway forward beyond traditional sports categorization with alternative regulatory strategies to reflect the next generation of high-performance athletes. A scoping inquiry into the modern sports industry, Regulating Bodies asks us whether the unending quest for sporting excellence is worth the financial, social, and human toll it inevitably takes on participants at every level of elite sports.
A revealing account of the entrenched inequities that harm our most vulnerable students and what colleges can do to help them excel Elite colleges are boasting unprecedented numbers with respect to diversity, with some schools admitting their first majority-minority classes. But when the twin pandemics of COVID-19 and racial unrest gripped the world, schools scrambled to figure out what to do with the diversity they so fervently recruited. And disadvantaged students suffered. Class Dismissed exposes how woefully unprepared colleges were to support these students and shares their stories of how they were left to weather the storm alone and unprotected. Drawing on the firsthand experiences of students from all walks of life at elite colleges, Anthony Abraham Jack reveals the hidden and unequal worlds students navigated before and during the pandemic closures and upon their return to campus. He shows how COVID-19 exacerbated the very inequalities that universities ignored or failed to address long before campus closures. Jack examines how students dealt with the disruptions caused by the pandemic, how they navigated social unrest, and how they grappled with problems of race both on campus and off. A provocative and much-needed book, Class Dismissed paints an intimate and unflinchingly candid portrait of the challenges of undergraduate life for disadvantaged students even in elite schools that invest millions to diversify their student body. Moreover, Jack offers guidance on how to make students' path to graduation less treacherous--guidance colleges would be wise to follow.
Expanded and extended, this new edition of ChatGPT For Dummies covers the latest tools, models, and options available on the popular generative AI platform. You'll learn best practices for using ChatGPT as a text and media generation tool, research assistant, and content reviewer. If you're new to the world of AI, you'll get all the basic know-how needed to add ChatGPT to your professional toolbox. And if you've been doing the genAI thing for a while already, this book will sharpen your skills as you apply AI to real-world projects in an ethical manner. You'll get insight on the best practice for using ChatGPT to make your life and work easier and how to write prompts that result in high-quality output. Understand what generative AI is and how ChatGPT produces human-like responses Get tips on writing effective prompts and using ChatGPT to generate sound and images Apply ChatGPT to your daily work or personal life Discover the best way to fact-check AI-generated content to avoid errors and hallucinations Anyone using ChatGPT to enhance their work--whether for professional or personal use--will get better results with ChatGPT For Dummies.
In Why We Vote, renowned legal scholar Owen Fiss offers a bold and daring reconstruction of judicial doctrine that gives expression to the democratic aspirations of the US Constitution. Fiss argues that embedded within the Constitution is a commitment to democracy, and that over the course of the twentieth century, the Supreme Court brought to fruition the principle that allows those who are ruled to choose their rulers. Each chapter focuses on Supreme Court cases that enlarged the freedom that democracy generates. Fiss points to rulings that allowed citizens to vote, facilitated the exercise of their right to vote, ensured the equality of votes, and provided feasible access to the ballot for independent candidates and new political parties. He celebrates these decisions and at the same time insists upon shifting the ground upon which these decisions rest--from equal protection of the laws to the recognition of a federal constitutional right to vote. Given the threat of democratic backsliding in a nation that has the world's oldest democratic constitution, Fiss's analysis and message are more important than ever.
A practical guide to cultivating expansive understandings of climate change and environmental regeneration in K-12 students through classroom instructional practices and curricula. Teaching Climate Change lays out a comprehensive, NGSS-aligned approach to climate change education that builds in-depth knowledge of the subject, empowers students, and promotes a social justice mindset. In this fortifying and inspiring work, Mark Windschitl guides classroom teachers and educational leaders through an ambitious multilevel, multidisciplinary framing of climate change education as an integral element of school curricula. Exuding hope for the future, Windschitl emphasizes the big picture of research-informed teaching about climate change. He presents real-life classroom examples that illustrate not only key STEM concepts such as carbon cycles and the greenhouse effect, biodiversity, and sustainability, but also broader issues, including the countering of misinformation, decarbonizing solutions, the centering of human stories, and the advancement of equity and environmental justice. Windschitl offers keen advice for using methods such as storytelling, project-based learning, and models of inquiry backed by authoritative evidence as core strategies in science teaching and learning. He also addresses the social-emotional toll that discussion of the climate crisis may exact on both students and teachers. This timely book equips teachers to approach climate education with the urgency and empathy that the topic requires and shows how the classroom can inspire students to activism.
Why do some children experience literacy difficulties? How can I identify a child with reading and writing challenges? What is the best way to support them in a classroom context? 1 in 8 children will experience some kind of reading difficulty, and while you as a class teacher are not expected to formally assess children or deliver specialist interventions, a good understanding of literacy challenges is crucial for providing optimum educational support. This guide demystifies and disentangles different types of literacy difficulty and explains how they can impact the child's day-to-day classroom functioning and general school life. Chapters include: how to identify children that are struggling; how to work with SpLD teachers and parents so they can be maximally supported; the co-occurrence of literacy difficulties with other learning difficulties such as with maths and attention problems,; alongside practical tips to support each child's learning. Strongly grounded in up-to-date theory and research, this is a perfect companion for classroom teachers of all age levels.