Education Resource Guide

The most comprehensive and practical guide to understanding and applying the science of reading to improve literacy instruction. After effectively teaching phonics in the early grades, what does the science of reading tell us should happen in literacy classes? The Teach Like a Champion Guide to the Science of Reading by Doug Lemov, Erica Woolway, and Colleen Driggs, addresses the pressing challenges educators face in effectively incorporating the Science of Reading into their instruction once students already know how to decode. By offering actionable guidance grounded in seven evidence-based principles, this book helps teachers elevate their instructional practices and better prepare students to be lifelong readers and thinkers. Grounded in proven classroom instruction, the book focuses on techniques that can allow teachers to use the science as effectively and actionably as possible. The Teach Like a Champion Guide to the Science of Reading is enhanced with more than 50 video clips from the classroom and covers ways to practically apply the Science of Reading. The book describes the often overlooked role of fluency in reading comprehension, even into the high school years; the profound importance of managing and socializing attention in an age of technology; the central role of background knowledge in understanding text; and the doubly important role of teaching vocabulary as a form of knowledge. It adds a discussion of how writing can make students better readers and how important it is that reading classes focus on reading actual books--great ones, ideally. And it closes with a discussion of close reading and the challenge of preparing students to rise to the challenge of complex text. Inside the book: An innovative approach to building and reinforcing background knowledge in reading Over 50 video demonstrations of effective teaching techniques Sample lesson plans and materials for immediate classroom application The Teach Like a Champion Guide to the Science of Reading is essential for educators, literacy coaches, and administrators who aim to foster rigorous literacy instruction in their classrooms and schools. This guide shows you how to implement techniques that ensure students find joy in reading and become better, wiser, more engaged and more motivated readers, both in their classrooms and in their lives beyond.

How exceptional low-income students navigate and pursue opportunity in prestige-oriented universities at the personal cost of hunger. Beneath the veneer of prestige and promise, a hidden issue pervades the campuses of America's selective universities. In Starving the Dream, Nathan F. Alleman, Cara Cliburn Allen, and Sarah E. Madsen reveal the startling contradiction between the celebrated opportunities of these prestige-oriented institutions and the food insecurity that exceptional low-income students must navigate within environments of plenty. Through meticulous case-study research, the authors leverage student and administrative interviews, observations, and official and "alternative" campus tours to uncover how normatively affluent universities are rife with expectations of extensive campus involvement and material displays of wealth. However, visions of the ideal student experience are only attainable for low-income students at the cost of either involvement or consistent food access. Critiquing the social and symbolic meaning that food takes on in affluent universities where students are socialized into coveting upper-middle-class lifestyle markers such as gourmet coffee and branded campus clothing, the book argues that administrators must better align services and support with the demands of a rigorous academic experience. It also encourages universities to recognize students' innovative solution-making and incorporate their voices and agency in campus strategies. This expansive study challenges readers to reconsider the broader impacts of higher education's structures and priorities and urges a reevaluation of what full participation should look like in these resource- and opportunity-rich environments. Starving the Dream is an appeal to university leaders, campus administrators, and students themselves concerned with educational equity beyond mere access. It provides a blueprint for meaningful change that centers the knowledge of those experiencing and administrating food insecurity, such that the dreams of selective university attendance need not be deferred by student hunger.

Provides a thorough introduction to the wide range of career opportunities available to those interested pursuing a rewarding career related to travel & adventure, including everything from adult basic education teacher to zoologist.

Provides a thorough introduction to the wide range of career opportunities available to those interested pursuing a rewarding career related to culinary arts, including everything from agricultural engineer to wholesale sales representative.

Provides a thorough introduction to the wide range of career opportunities available to those interested in the many areas of this influential industry, from arbitrator to tax examiner, and everything in between.

Information on 1.5 million scholarships, grants, and prizes is easily accessible in this revised directory with more than 300 new listings that feature awards indexed by career goal, major, academics, public service, talent, athletics, religion, ethnicity, and more.Each entry contains all the necessary information for students and parents to complete the application process, including eligibility requirements, how to obtain an application, how to get more information about each award, sponsor website listings, award amounts, and key deadlines. With scholarships for high school, college, graduate, and adult students, this guide also includes tips on how to conduct the most effective search, how to write a winning application, and how to avoid scams.

A powerful exposé of the American public education system's indifference toward marginalized children and the "slow violence" that fashions schools into hostile work and learning environments. In 2017, sociologist Ranita Ray stepped inside a fourth-grade classroom in one of the nation's largest majority-minority districts in Las Vegas, Nevada. She was there to conduct research on the lack of resources and budget cuts that regularly face public schools. However, a few months into her immersion, a disturbed Ray recognized that that greatest impediment to students was the "slow violence" that preys on their minds, bodies, and spirits at the hands of teachers and administrators who are charged with their care. Slow Violence lays bare the routine indifference, racism, and verbal and emotional abuse and harassment that teachers and administrators perpetrate routinely against the most vulnerable children in our schools. We meet Nazli, a bright, funny Black girl, and math wiz, who loses her baby brother, and is told that "grit" will enable her to rise above her grief. Reggie is a devoted student and curious scholar, but his path to success is derailed when teachers fashion him as a predator after they find him looking at two inappropriate photos on his iPad. There's Nalin, a shy and determined Filipina who has just arrived in the US, but is ignored based on her educator's assumption that "Asians" are "good at math." Her entire journey through school is darkened by this stereotype. And there's Miguel, a sharp, distracted Latino boy who can't overcome his teachers' urge to incorrectly diagnose him with autism. Bolstered by an empathetic and passionate voice as well as the latest breaking research in the social sciences, Ray goes beyond timeworn discussions about the school-to-prison pipeline, funding, and achievement gaps to directly address what happens behind the closed doors of classrooms, introducing a compelling--and crucial--new perspective into the conversation about our education system. In the warm, luminous spirit of character-driven books like Invisible Child, Slow Violence allows us to see that the way we've tried to make a start in education reform is wrong. To forge new approaches that foster young minds and flourishing generations we have to start with how children experience the classroom. Unflinchingly, Slow Violence tells us--and shows us where to begin.

In these days of an ever-expanding internet, generative AI, and term paper mills, students may find it too easy and tempting to cheat, and teachers may think they can't keep up. What's needed, and what Tricia Bertram Gallant and David A. Rettinger offer in this timely book, is a new approach--one that works with the realities of the twenty-first century, not just to protect academic integrity but also to maximize opportunities for students to learn. The Opposite of Cheating presents a positive, forward-looking, research-backed vision for what classroom integrity can look like in the GenAI era, both in cyberspace and on campus. Accordingly, the book outlines workable measures teachers can use to better understand why students cheat and to prevent cheating while aiming to enhance learning and integrity. Bertram Gallant and Rettinger provide practical suggestions to help faculty revise the conversation around integrity, refocus classes and students on learning, reconsider the structure and goals of assessment, and generally reframe our response to cheating. At the core of this strategy is a call for teachers, academic staff, institutional leaders, and administrators to rethink how we "show up" for students, and to reinforce and fully support quality teaching, learning, and assessment. With its evidentiary basis and its useful tips for instructors across disciplines, levels of experience, and modes of instruction, this book offers a much-needed chance to pause, rethink our purpose, and refocus on what matters--creating classes that center human interactions that foster the personal and professional growth of our students.  

Learn how to design algebra lessons that are responsive to all students' experiences. An essential understanding of the uses and practices of algebra remain out of reach for many students. In this book, award-winning researcher Dr. Nicole Fonger addresses the issue of how to support all learners to experience algebra as meaningful. In a highly visual approach, the book details four research-based lenses with examples from 9th-grade algebra classrooms: (1) students' algebraic reasoning and representing; (2) goal-directed classroom practices with technology; (3) culturally and historically responsive algebra literacy; and (4) teachers' journeys toward antiracism. The author makes connections among research in algebra education; teaching algebra; and leading ambitious, equitable, and antiracist visions for algebra education. By the end of this book, you will: Learn how to support students to fluently reason and represent expressions, equations, and functions. Learn how to design algebra lessons that are culturally and historically responsive to students' experiences and social justice issues. Learn to use sketchnotes to reflect on and communicate complex ideas in teaching and learning algebra. Have a set of tools for guiding the design of instruction to support meaningful algebra learning for all students.

African American males are confronted with formidable barriers in their pursuit of quality education, resulting in stark disparities in academic performance, economic opportunities, and social outcomes. Despite numerous educational initiatives striving for parity, African American males persistently bear the brunt of the highest rates of suspensions, expulsions, and dropout rates, surpassing all other demographic groups. Educational environments often fail to acknowledge and integrate the cultural and social needs of Black males, viewing them as "problems" rather than recognizing their immense potential for academic and leadership success. The prevalence of negative stereotypes in media, particularly in video games, exacerbates societal biases, portraying African American males as inherently violent and criminal. These representations contribute to implicit biases that affect perceptions and treatment in real-life scenarios. The systemic issues within the education system, coupled with socioeconomic factors, result in African American males being underrepresented in advanced placement and gifted education programs. This underrepresentation limits their opportunities for higher education and professional advancement. Confronting these challenges necessitates a comprehensive approach that encompasses the creation of inclusive educational environments, the eradication of systemic racism, and the promotion of positive representations of African American males in media. By acknowledging and fostering the potential of Black males, society can strive to reduce disparities and cultivate a more equitable and just education system that recognizes and celebrates their academic and professional achievements. African American Males and Video Gamesexplores the perspectives of four African American male college students aged 18 to 21 on the impact of video games on their academic growth and development. The participants, all maintaining a GPA of 3.0 or higher, shared their experiences with teachers, video games, and coping mechanisms. This qualitative approach allowed for a rich understanding of the participant's experiences and the role of video games in their academic and mental well-being. Video games emerged as a significant coping tool for the participants, providing a mental escape from academic and social pressures. The games allowed them to engage in competitive and creative activities, fostering a sense of accomplishment and reducing stress. For example, games like NBA 2K21 and Forza Horizon 4 enabled them to explore alter egos and interests in a virtual space, offering entertainment and a sense of community. African American Males and Video Gamesis a critical text for exploring alternatives in providing a quality education experience for young African American males. It is vital reading for educators in all areas of higher education, and a valuable teaching tool in Colleges of Education. Perfect for courses such as: Educational Psychology; Sociology of Education; African American Studies; Media Studies; Game Design; Youth Development; Digital Literacy; Cultural Studies; Educational Technology; Social Psychology; Gender Studies

This volume offers a set of strategies and materials in education, developed to assist teachers in guiding their classroom and students in understanding fundamental subjects of teaching. It serves to ensure the highest levels of academic achievement for all students and will help students develop a positive self-concept by providing knowledge about the various dimensions of teaching. Including contributions from academics and researchers, the book encompasses eight chapters: Fundamental Concepts of Education; Teachers and Teaching; Social Foundation of Education; Philosophy and Educational Philosophy; Psychology and Educational Psychology; Foundation of Educational Politics; Comparative Educational Systems; and Sociocultural Perspectives.This volume will appeal to a wide range of readers, including educators, researchers, students, teacher trainers, and teachers of all subjects and of all levels, who wish to develop both personally and professionally.

From the schools of ancient times to the present day, Gary Thomas explores how and why education has evolved has it has. Examining education worldwide, he explains the way schools work, noting how curricula are remarkably consistent around the world. Delving into some of the big questions, Thomas explores the history of education in this Very Short Introduction. Considering various styles such as progressive versus formal, he also explores the ideas of some of the big theorists, including Piaget and Vygotsky. Looking at different forms of education and styles of teaching, he considers the ways in which education is being improved by matching styles of learning to teaching, and ensuring that schools are more inclusive and meaningful for a broader range of students. He finishes by considering the ways in which education may develop over the coming century.