Library Services
A full-text alternative health resource database focused on complementary, holistic, and integrated approaches to health care and wellness.
Health-related topics covered with mainstream and holistic perspectives. Not intended for nursing student research assignments.
Consumer health related reference ebook content.
For biology, anatomy, nursing, and healthcare students. 3D interactive human anatomy models. After clicking into this database, ignore the pop-up resources selection screen in the middle of the page and click on "Visible Body" in the blue bar toward the top of page.
If you want to master the most commonly prescribed medications without endless hours of frustrating memorization, then keep reading... Are you overwhelmed by trying to learn hundreds of medications for clinical practice or board exams? Do you find yourself drowning in drug cards and flashcards? Are you searching for a more engaging way to learn and retain essential medication information? Need a resource that makes the top 300 medications actually stick in your memory? In this comprehensive three-volume collection, Callie Parker transforms the most frequently prescribed medications into memorable rhymes that stick. This complete bundle combines evidence-based pharmacology with creative poetry, making it the perfect companion for pharmacy students, nursing students, medical students, and any healthcare provider working with medications. Inside this extensive bundle, readers will discover the top 300 most commonly prescribed medications, with 100 essential medications in each volume. Each medication poem includes: Brand and Generic Names Drug Classification Mechanism of Action Primary Indications Common Side Effects Key Counseling Points Important Warnings Significant Interactions Dosing Considerations Special Population Precautions Unlike traditional drug guides and review books, this comprehensive bundle doesn't require endless hours of rote memorization. Each medication is presented in an easy-to-digest format that naturally embeds in long-term memory. The rhyming format isn't just clever wordplay - it's based on proven memory enhancement techniques used by healthcare professionals worldwide. Whether you're studying for boards, starting clinical rotations, or updating your medication knowledge, these poems work with your natural learning style. Even if you've struggled with pharmacology in the past, this unique approach makes learning the top 300 medications intuitive and enjoyable. This bundle includes: Pharmacology Made Easy: Volume 1 Pharmacology Made Easy: Volume 2 Pharmacology Made Easy: Volume 3 Don't let medications overwhelm you any longer. Get your complete three-volume bundle now and start mastering the top 300 medications the easy way!
Although federal law in the United States still prohibits the use, possession, and sale of cannabis containing more than 0.3% THC, 24 states, the District of Columbia, and three U.S. territories have legalized the recreational use of marijuana. This trend is also seen in other countries, including Canada, South Africa, and Uruguay. Studies show that the prevalence of cannabis use disorder among people who use cannabis is relatively high. As the business of cannabis--both legal and illicit--and its use continue to grow, mental health and medical professionals must be prepared to address the effects of cannabis on the mind and body. Equipping providers with the relevant information is the intention of The Other Side of Cannabis. Relying on the insights of experts from around the world, this volume examines, among many other topics: * The frequency of use and deleterious effects of cannabis on adolescents, adults, and older adults* The link between cannabis and psychosis* The relationship between cannabis and posttraumatic stress disorder and anxiety disorders* The effects of cannabis on fertility--both male and female* The mechanisms and efficacy of cannabinoids on treating chronic pain Extensively referenced, this guide is rich in figures and tables for ease of reference. Key points at the end of each chapter aid in the retention and recall of the most important information. Readers will come away with a comprehensive understanding of the detrimental impact of cannabis use and be better positioned to educate patients, the public, and policymakers.
Updated with NANDA-I Nursing Diagnoses 2024-2026 The all-in-one care planning resource! Here's the step-by-step guidance you need to develop individualized plans of care while also honing your analytical, critical-thinking, and clinical judgment skills. You'll find over 160 care plans in all, covering acute, community, and home-care settings across the life span. Each plan features... Client assessment database for each medical condition Complete listings of nursing diagnoses organized by priority Diagnostic studies with explanations of the reason for the test and what the results mean Actions and interventions with comprehensive rationales NANDA, NIC, and NOC's most recent guidelines and terminology Evidence-based citations Index of nursing diagnoses and their associated disorders A must for nursing students!
An incisive and deeply candid account that explores autistic women in culture, myth, and society through the prism of the author's own diagnosis. Until the 1980s, autism was regarded as a condition found mostly in boys. Even in our time, autistic girls and women have largely remained undiagnosed. When portrayed in popular culture, women on the spectrum often appear simply as copies of their male counterparts -- talented and socially awkward. Yet autistic women exist, and always have. They are varied in their interests and in their experiences. Autism may be relatively new as a term and a diagnosis, but not as a way of being and functioning in the world. It has always been part of the human condition. So who are these women, and what does it mean to see the world through their eyes? In The Autists, Clara Törnvall reclaims the language to describe autism and explores the autistic experience in arts and culture throughout history. From popular culture, films, and photography to literature, opera, and ballet, she dares to ask what it might mean to re-read these works through an autistic lens -- what we might discover if we allow perspectives beyond the neurotypical to take centre stage.
Scientists and enthusiastic amateurs first confirmed the existence of living things invisible to the human eye in the late seventeenth century. So why did it take two centuries to connect microbes to disease? As late as the Civil War in the 1860s, most soldiers who perished died not on the battlefield but of infected wounds, typhoid, and other diseases. Twenty years later, the outcome might have been different, following one of the most radical intellectual transformations in history: germ theory, the recognition that the tiniest forms of life have been humankind's greatest killers. It was a discovery centuries in the making, and it transformed modern life and public health. As Thomas Levenson reveals in this globe-spanning history, it has everything to do with how we see ourselves. For centuries, people in the West, believing themselves to hold God-given dominion over nature, thought too much of humanity and too little of microbes to believe they could take us down. When nineteenth-century scientists finally made the connection, life-saving methods to control infections and contain outbreaks soon followed. The next big break came with the birth of the antibiotic era in the 1930s. And yet, less than a century later, the promise of the antibiotic revolution is already receding due to years of overuse. Is our self-confidence getting the better of us again? So Very Small follows the thread of human ingenuity and hubris across centuries--along the way peering into microscopes, spelunking down sewers, visiting army hospitals, traipsing across sheep fields, and more--to show how we came to understand the microbial environment and how little we understand ourselves. Levenson traces how and why ideas are pursued, accepted, or ignored--and hence how human habits of mind can, so often, make it terribly hard to ask the right questions.
Prepping to pass the NCLEX has never been easier. Introducing Ascencia Test Prep's unofficial NCLEX RN Examination Book: 4 Practice Tests for Next Generation NCLEX RN Prep [8th Edition] offers: Diagnostic Test4 Practice TestsDetailed Answer ExplanationsAdditional Review Questions OnlineNCLEX Test InformationEverything you need to feel prepared! The National Council of State Boards of Nursing (NCSBN) was not involved in the creation or production of this product, is not in any way affiliated with Ascencia Test Prep, and does not sponsor or endorse this product. About Ascencia Test Prep At Ascencia Test Prep, we understand that healthcare professionals need high-quality educational resources. That's why our test prep materials are developed by credentialed experts with years of experience who are excited to share their knowledge with you. Whether you're just starting your career or ready to climb higher, we're here to help you feel ready on test day.
Test Prep Books' NCLEX RN Examination Study Guide: 6 Practice Tests and Next Generation (NGN) NCLEX Prep Book for Review [9th Edition] 2 Practice Tests in the Book + 3 Online in a Convenient, Interactive Format. Made by Test Prep Books experts for test takers trying to achieve a great score on the NCLEX RN exam. Comprehensive Study Guide Includes: Quick Overview Find out what's inside this guide! Test-Taking Strategies Learn the best tips to help overcome your exam! Introduction Get a thorough breakdown of what the test is and what's on it! Management of Care Safety and Infection Control Health Promotion and Maintenance Psychosocial Integrity Basic Care and Comfort Pharmacological and Parenteral Therapies Reduction of Risk Potential Physiological Adaptation 6 Practice Tests: Practice Test #1 - In the book Practice Test #2 - In the book Practice Tests #3-#6 - Online Access Detailed Answer Explanations for Every Question Key Features and Benefits: Human Authored: Our book is written and edited by actual humans to ensure its accuracy and effectiveness. Comprehensive Review: Each section of the test has a comprehensive review created by Test Prep Books that goes into detail to cover all of the content likely to appear on the test. NCLEX RN Practice Test Questions: We want to give you the best practice you can find. That's why the Test Prep Books practice questions are as close as you can get to the actual test. Answer Explanations: Every single problem is followed by an answer explanation. We know it's frustrating to miss a question and not understand why. The answer explanations will help you learn from your mistakes. That way, you can avoid missing it again in the future. Test-Taking Strategies: A test taker has to understand the material that is being covered and be familiar with the latest test-taking strategies. These strategies are necessary to properly use the time provided. They also help test takers complete the test without making any errors. Test Prep Books has provided the top test-taking tips. Customer Service: We love taking care of our test takers. We make sure that you interact with a real human being when you email your comments or concerns. Get started on your studying journey today!
A nursing review book for answering prioritization and next generation questions on the NCLEX exam.
Introducing our CNA Study Guide: 7 Practice Tests and Certified Nursing Assistant Exam Prep Book [7th Edition]! Ascencia Test Prep's CNA Study Guide includes everything you need to pass the CNA Exam the first time.Quick review of the concepts covered on the CNA Exam7 practice tests with detailed answer explanationsTips and tricks from experienced CNAsAccess to online flash cards, cheat sheets, and more Ascencia Test Prep's CNA Study Guide is aligned with the official CNA Exam framework. Topics covered include: Activities of Daily LivingBasic Nursing SkillsSafety and Infection ControlPsychosocial Care SkillsRole of the Nurse Aide The National Council of State Boards of Nursing, Inc. was not involved in the creation or production of this product, is not in any way affiliated with Ascencia Test Prep, and does not sponsor or endorse this product.
Peterson's® Master the™ Nursing School and Allied Health Entrance Exams is a comprehensive source that offers the essential test prep needed for the RN, PN, and allied health entrance exams. This easy-to-use guide provides in-depth review of the basic facts, principles, and concepts of all nursing entrance exam subject areas. In addition, there are several tests for each subject area to help test-takers become familiar with exam questions and improve their test-taking skills. Essential review of subjects covered on the NLN PAX-RN and PAX-PN; PSB-RN, PSB-PN, and PSB-HO; and NET and TEAS 3 Diagnostic Tests—one each for the RN, PN, and Allied Health exams, to assess your strengths and weaknesses Practice tests in each subject area, with more than 2,200 questions with detailed answer explanations Comprehensive content review aligned with current test plans for the PAX, PSB-RN, PSB-PN, PSB-HO, and TEAS exams Up-to-date information on financing your education and selecting career paths in nursing and allied health care.
Don't Battle an Eating Disorder Forever-Recover from It Completely Jenni Schaefer and Ed (eating disorder) are no longer on speaking terms, not even in her most difficult moments. In her bestseller, Life Without Ed, Jenni learned to treat her eating disorder as a relationship, not a condition-enabling her to break up with Ed once and for all. In Goodbye Ed, Hello Me Jenni shows you that being fully recovered is not just about breaking free from destructive behaviors with food and having a healthy relationship with your body; it also means finding joy and peace in your life. Combining Jenni's signature personal advice and unfailing encouragement along with valuable exercises you can do as you read, Goodbye Ed, Hello Me will give you the prescriptive tools to take the final steps in divorcing your Ed completely.
Learn how to simplify your life with AI in this essential guide -- now fully updated and revised, with even more ideas to spark creativity and boost efficiency The ChatGPT Revolution is the ultimate quick-start guide to unlocking the power of generative AI. We're on the edge of an AI revolution ... but what does that mean for you? It's time to get curious about how the latest tech can help you handle your everyday load, at work and at home! Whether you're overwhelmed by repetitive, time-consuming tasks or you're simply looking for a fresh injection of creativity, ChatGPT has got your back. With this essential handbook, you'll learn how quickly and easily apps like ChatGPT can turn your to-do list into a ta-da list. From emails and reports to planning your next meal or vacation, generative AI can help you simplify your daily tasks and responsibilities. The ChatGPT Revolution shows you exactly how to use this innovative tech to save on time and stress. Sharing practical tips and fun ideas, acclaimed productivity expert Donna McGeorge unpacks everything you need to know. Learn how generative AI is already being used in everyday life -- and how tools like ChatGPT are transforming the future of work and life admin Understand the different tasks that AI tools like ChatGPT, Copilot, and DALL-E can do -- and when and how to use these tools most effectively Get step-by-step advice for writing smart, specific prompts and follow-up queries to produce better results Discover tips for using ChatGPT on the go, with the mobile app and voice and photo capability Take control, revitalise your workflows, and overcome procrastination and creative blocks -- with entertaining examples and activities for work, home, creative writing, and more Whether you're a busy professional or you simply want an answer to the dreaded question 'What's for dinner?,' The ChatGPT Revolution reveals how generative AI can make your life easier. AI technologies are here to stay. This is your invitation to join the revolution. Pick up this book and learn how to harness the power of AI, so you can free up more time and energy for the things that truly matter.
Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD) is the second most impactful condition on young people's health in the United States. But ADHD is a complex disorder and is often misunderstood or stereotyped as just a few symptoms. ADHD may present with many different symptoms. Social factors such as age can also affect how the disorder manifests. Recognizing the breadth and complexity of ADHD helps people not only support someone with the disorder but also understand what their options are if they are diagnosed. This timely guide explains the causes, symptoms, and diagnosis of ADHD and covers ongoing research into the disorder, coping strategies, and treatments such as therapy options and medication. Find out more about ADHD and gain resources for understanding, treating, and living with it in Beyond Distraction.
Skilled and vocational trades offer many different fulfilling career paths. This book explores what it's like to be a licensed practical nurse, including what an LPN does, what training is required, and the future of the career.
Skilled and vocational trades offer many different fulfilling career paths. This book explores what it's like to be a diagnostic medical sonographer, including what a sonographer does, what training is required, and the future of the career.
Introducing our ATI TEAS(R) 7th Edition Study Guide: 1200+ Practice Test Questions and TEAS Exam Prep! Trivium Test Prep's ATI TEAS 7th Edition Study Guide includes everything you need to pass the ATI TEAS 7th Edition exam the first time.Quick review of the concepts covered on the ATI TEAS 7th Edition exam4 practice tests with detailed answer explanationsTips and tricks from experienced nursing educatorsAccess to online flash cards, cheat sheets, and more Trivium Test Prep's ATI TEAS 7th Edition Study Guide is aligned with the official ATI TEAS 7th Edition exam framework. Topics covered include: ReadingMathematicsScienceEnglish and Language Usage ATI(R) was not involved in the creation or production of this product, is not in any way affiliated with Trivium Test Prep, and does not sponsor or endorse this product.
Assessment of mental health problems is a challenging area of practice that covers a range of symptoms and behaviours - and involves building a trust relationship with service users while also using specialist skills. Using a values-based approach focused on engaging and working in partnership with the service user, this book is designed to take you from the core building blocks of assessment through to practice-based guidance about mental health behaviours, and concludes with case studies 'on the ground'.
The first section of the book explores core aspects of assessment such as communication skills and engaging the service user, and explores how assessment guides the nursing process as a whole. The next section will be ideal for quick reference during practice and looks at 23 different clinical behaviours that nurses will assess, under 4 categories:
- Physical factors in mental health
- Behavioural aspects in mental health
- The role of thoughts in mental health
- Feelings in mental health
The final section gives 4 case studies of different assessment stories which relate to the different types of clinical behaviour you will encounter.
This practical book is essential reading for student nurses and all healthcare staff involved in the assessment of people with mental health problems.
"What is antibiotic resistance, and why should I care?" Two decades after the first edition of Revenge of the Microbes: How Bacterial Resistance Is Undermining the Antibiotic Miracle warned of the looming threat of antibiotic resistance, it is now upon us. Not only has the spread of antibiotic resistance continued unabated, but the emergence of multidrug-resistant "superbugs" is poised to set medical progress back centuries. Several distinct biological, social, economic, and technological factors have resulted in us only barely keeping pace with these new threats. In this edition of Revenge of the Microbes, the authors detail the intricacies of the antibiotic-microbe arms race. Beginning with a historical perspective on antibiotics and their profound impact on both modern medicine and present-day society, they review our current arsenal against infectious diseases and the various ways pathogens evade or overcome them. The authors examine the practices and policies driving the discovery and development of new antibiotics, what happens to antibiotics once they are released into the environment, how antibiotic-resistant bacteria evolve and spread, and the urgency for finding alternative approaches to combating infections. This discussion of the controversies surrounding antibiotics will empower readers--citizen scientists, policy makers, pharmaceutical researchers, and medical professionals alike--to generate informed opinions on antibiotic usage and stewardship as we contend with fewer effective antibiotics. Reader-friendly and comprehensible, this new edition of Revenge of the Microbes engages a diverse audience of scientists, clinicians, educators, students, lawyers, environmentalists, and public health advocates as it explores the ever-changing landscape of the antibiotic resistance crisis.
Magic Bullets, Miracle Drugs, and Microbiologists Magic Bullets, Miracle Drugs, and Microbiologists: A History of the Microbiome and Metagenomics by William C. Summers is an enlightening journey through the fascinating world of microbiology, exploring its history, challenges, and the revolutionary concept of the microbiome. Summers draws from his unique perspective as both a practicing microbiologist and a historian of science, influenced by early microbiological literature and his own extensive career, presenting how our understanding of microbes evolved from concepts of simple germs to complex, essential elements of life. Summers skillfully ties together key players and eras in the microbial sciences into a concise narrative, from early microscopic observations to the revolutionary developments in genetic analysis and metagenomics, highlighting our ever-evolving understanding of the diverse microbial world. Magic Bullets, Miracle Drugs, and Microbiologists is a compelling read for anyone interested in the profound impact of microorganisms on our world.
A rare study that transforms our understanding of why youth die by suicide, why youth suicide clusters happen, and how to stop themYouth suicide clusters have deeply unsettled communities in recent years. While clusters have been widely documented in the media, too little is known about why youth die by suicide, why youth suicide clusters happen, and how to stop them both.In Life under Pressure, Anna S. Mueller and Seth Abrutyn investigate the social roots of youth suicide and why certain places weather disproportionate incidents of adolescent suicides and suicide clusters. Through close examination of kids' lives in a community repeatedly rocked by youth suicide clusters, Mueller and Abrutyn reveal how the social worlds that youth inhabit and the various messages they learn in those spaces--about who they are supposed to be, mental illness, and help-seeking--shape their feelings about themselves and in turn their risk of suicide. With great empathy, Mueller and Abrutyn also identify the moments when adults unintentionally fail kids by not talking to them about suicide, teaching them how to seek help, or helping them grieve.Through stories of survival, resilience, and even rebellion, Mueller and Abrutyn show how social environments can cause suicide and how they can be changed to help kids discover a life worth living. By revealing what it is like to live and die in one community, Life under Pressure offers tangible solutions to one of the twenty-first century's most tragic public health problems.
An in-depth look at the theoretical foundations and practical applications of health promotion Introduction to Health Promotion gives students a working knowledge of health promotion concepts and their applications, with a special emphasis on the philosophical and theoretical foundations of health promotion. This new edition underscores the growing need--highlighted by the COVID-19 pandemic--for activities, programs, and policies to improve the quality of health for all. Spearheaded by leading public health professor and registered dietitian Dr. Anastasia Snelling, this respected textbook addresses health disparities in disadvantaged communities and describes the features of the community-driven programs that will be necessary to address them. Unlike other books in the field, Introduction to Health Promotion delves into the complex, interwoven factors that influence health, including social and physical environments, medical advances, personal lifestyle choices, and legislation. This in-depth examination prepares and inspires health promotion students as they prepare for their careers. Provides a clear introduction to the essential topics and theories in health promotion Reviews the cultural and political landscape surrounding key health behaviors, including tobacco use, physical activity, and eating Explores current trends in health promotion, including telehealth, health disparities, new technologies, and the aging population Describes contemporary health promotion initiatives and provides an overview of health promotion settings and career opportunities Ideal for students in health promotion, health education, and public health fields, Introduction to Health Promotion prepares learners with a comprehensive overview of the foundations, history, and current perspectives of health promotion, as well as its key methods and applications. Instructors will appreciate the online supplementary materials, facilitating course design.
Veteran health writer Sara Gorman compellingly argues that the backbone of medical conspiracy theories is not misinformation but lack of trust--in our hospitals and in our democracy writ large. In the aftermath of the COVID-19 pandemic, trust in the healthcare system seems to be at an all-time low. Conspiracy theories are now mainstream, and distrust of government health agencies is common among private citizens. Yet many of those same individuals still profess trust in their doctors. What, then, is driving the general mistrust in medicine, and how can the public's faith be restored? The Anatomy of Deception investigates the cause behind this seeming uptick in distrust by tracing the unexpected connection between medical mistrust and the move toward far right ideology in the United States. Drawing on personal qualitative research and interviews, health writer and expert Sara Gorman challenges traditional concepts of medical mistrust and argues that the loss of institutional trust in American health care signals a larger breakdown in democracy as a whole. In six short chapters, Gorman advances the idea of medical mistrust not as a byproduct of personal or historical abuses but as a direct result of bias, miscommunication, and lack of access that has slowly eroded trust in the public health system over time. She argues that we can build back trust in medicine through investments in health equity as a first step towards healing the schisms present in modern American society. Wide-ranging yet incisive, The Anatomy of Deception uncovers the root of medical mistrust in America and how we can regain trust in the systems and values central to our democracy.
A powerful and important exploration of how addiction functions on social, psychological and biological levels, integrated with the experience of being an addict, from an acclaimed philosopher and former addict. What is addiction? Theories about what kind of thing addiction is are sharply divided between those who see it purely as a brain disorder, and those who conceive of it in psychological and social terms. Owen Flanagan, an acclaimed philosopher of mind and ethics, offers a state-of-the-art assessment of addiction science and proposes a new ecumenical model for understanding and explaining substance addiction. Flanagan has first-hand knowledge of what it is like to be an addict. That experience, along with his wide-ranging knowledge of the philosophy of mind, psychology, neuroscience, and the ethics and politics of addiction, informs this important and novel work. He pairs the sciences that study addiction with a sophisticated view of the consciousness-brain/body relation to make his core argument: that substance addictions comprise a heterogeneous set of "psychobiosocial" behavioral disorders. He explains that substance addictions do not have one set of causes, such as self-medication or social dislocation, and they do not have one neural profile, such as a dysfunction in dopamine system. Some addictions are fun and experimentation gone awry. Flanagan reveals addiction to be a heterogeneous set of disorders, which are picked out by multifarious cultural, social, psychological, and neural features. Flanagan explores the ways addicts sensibly insist on their own responsibility to undo addiction, as well as ways in which shame for addiction can be leveraged into healing. He insists on the collective shame we all bear for our indifference to many of the psychological and social causes of addiction and explores the implications of this new integrated paradigm for practices of harm reduction and treatment. Flanagan's powerful new book upends longstanding conventional thinking and points the way to new ways of understanding and treating addiction.
Considers the issues that impact healthcare for LGBTQ+ Americans today and the negative influences that disproportionately affect the well-being of these communities, and presents a path forward to making needed improvements. The health of LGBTQ+ Americans is affected by many historical achievements and failures, societal influences, economic disparities, cultural shifts, and political divisions that can greatly impact the world of medicine, especially given the COVID-19 pandemic. Each chapter examines these issues to identify the systemic factors and enduring consequences impacting these communities. First-hand accounts from LGBTQ+ individuals impacted by healthcare challenges are included between chapters through "In their Words" perspective essays. An extensive chronology of relevant people, events, and legislation places this topic in historical context and outlines the evolution of healthcare challenges as they relate to sexuality and gender identity. Intended to be an encompassing reference for high school students, college students, and general readers alike, this overview not only explores the historical and contemporary complexities of this topic, but also proposes solutions for improvement and pathways to advocacy.
For fans of Hidden Figures and Radium Girls comes the remarkable story of three Victorian women who broke down barriers in the medical field to become the first women doctors, revolutionizing the way women receive health care. In the early 1800s, women were dying in large numbers from treatable diseases because they avoided receiving medical care. Examinations performed by male doctors were often demeaning and even painful. In addition, women faced stigma from illness--a diagnosis could greatly limit their ability to find husbands, jobs or be received in polite society. Motivated by personal loss and frustration over inadequate medical care, Elizabeth Blackwell, Elizabeth Garrett Anderson and Sophia Jex-Blake fought for a woman's place in the male-dominated medical field. For the first time ever, Women in White Coats tells the complete history of these three pioneering women who, despite countless obstacles, earned medical degrees and paved the way for other women to do the same. Though very different in personality and circumstance, together these women built women-run hospitals and teaching colleges--creating for the first time medical care for women by women. With gripping storytelling based on extensive research and access to archival documents, Women in White Coats tells the courageous history these women made by becoming doctors, detailing the boundaries they broke of gender and science to reshape how we receive medical care today.