Library Services
Content about impact on the environment, such as global warming, renewable energy, recycling, sustainable agriculture, horticulture, etc.
Access to science magazines, journals, reference books, and videos. The database contains science experiments, curriculum-aligned lesson plans, and a vast image collection.
For biology, anatomy, nursing, and healthcare students. 3D interactive human anatomy models. After clicking into this database, ignore the pop-up resources selection screen in the middle of the page and click on "Visible Body" in the blue bar toward the top of page.
eBbooks covering a wide range of topics such as self-help, fitness, games, hobbies, and cooking, featuring titles for adults and juveniles. Generally not intended for college research.
eBooks for community college students and individual eBooks purchased by the library to help you with your class assignments and research projects.
This e-book collection contains thousands of high-quality open access (OA) e-books from the world’s most trusted university presses and scholarly publishers.
The body is the most complex machine in the world, and the only one for which you cannot get a replacement part from the manufacturer. For centuries, medicine has reached for what's available--sculpting noses from brass, borrowing skin from frogs and hearts from pigs, crafting eye parts from jet canopies and breasts from petroleum by-products. Today we're attempting to grow body parts from scratch using stem cells and 3D printers. How are we doing? Are we there yet? In Replaceable You, Mary Roach explores the remarkable advances and difficult questions prompted by the human body's failings. When and how does a person decide they'd be better off with a prosthetic than their existing limb? Can a donated heart be made to beat forever? Can an intestine provide a workable substitute for a vagina? Roach dives in with her characteristic verve and infectious wit. Her travels take her to the OR at a legendary burn unit in Boston, a "superclean" xeno-pigsty in China, and a stem cell "hair nursery" in the San Diego tech hub. She talks with researchers and surgeons, amputees and ostomates, printers of kidneys and designers of wearable organs. She spends time in a working iron lung from the 1950s, stays up all night with recovery techs as they disassemble and reassemble a tissue donor, and travels across Mongolia with the cataract surgeons of Orbis International. Irrepressible and accessible, Replaceable You immerses readers in the wondrous, improbable, and surreal quest to build a new you.
In this captivating, insightful book, acclaimed physicists Alan Lightman and Martin Rees illuminate the life and work of numerous scientists in order to demystify the scientific process and show that scientists are concerned citizens, just like the rest of us. "Remarkable. . . . Illuminating with refreshing clarity the ordinary and sometimes extraordinary work of scientists. This book is essential reading." --Jennifer Ackerman, bestselling author of What an Owl Knows In an age of rapid scientific discovery and technological advancement, it's understandable that many feel uneasy about the future. While we might have confidence in these new developments when we go to the hospital for a medical procedure, fly in an airplane, or take an elevator to the top floor of a building, the motivations and lives of scientists themselves feel shrouded from public view. There is a growing sense that scientists are not to be trusted--that they may be guided by political or financial interests, or beholden to governments, or state institutions. This growing mistrust of scientists is an urgent problem. With the onset of climate change, the imminent threats of pandemic or nuclear war, and rapid acceleration in the fields of artificial intelligence and DNA sequencing, innovations in science have the potential to change the world. It's crucial that we not only gain a better understanding of science as a field, but also reestablish trust with its practitioners. The Shape of Wonder guides us through the fascinating lives and minds of scientists around the world and throughout time, from a young theoretical physicist who works as a research assistant professor at the University of Washington and rock climbs in their free time; to German physicist Werner Heisenberg in his early life, when he was a student of music and philosophy; to Govind Swarup, an Indian astronomer whose work on radio telescopes was profoundly important. We get an inside peek at what makes scientists tick--their daily lives, passions, and concerns about the societies they live in. In this brilliant and elucidative work, Lightman and Rees pull back the curtain on the field of science, revealing that scientists are driven by the same sense of curiosity, wonder, and responsibility towards the future that shapes us all.
The story behind Dr. Gerta Keller's world-shattering scientific discovery that dinosaur extinction was NOT caused by asteroid impact, but rather by volcanic eruptions on the Indian peninsula, a discovery that highlights today's existential threat of greenhouse gasses and climate change--and one that sparked an all-out war waged by the scientific establishment. Part scientific detective story, part personal odyssey, The Last Extinction is the definitive account of a radical theory that has reshaped how we understand our planet's past and, as we face the possibility of a sixth extinction, how we might survive its future. For decades, the dominant theory held that an asteroid impact caused the dinosaurs' extinction. But Princeton Geologist Dr. Gerta Keller followed the evidence to the truth: Deccan volcanism, a series of massive volcanic eruptions in India, triggered a long-term climate catastrophe and Earth's fifth mass extinction. Her findings upended the field and ignited a bitter feud in modern science--what became known as the "Dinosaur Wars." Raised in poverty on a Swiss farm and told she could never be a scientist, Keller defied expectations, earning her PhD at Stanford and battling her way into the highest ranks of Geology, eventually becoming a Professor of Paleontology and Geology at Princeton University. Her refusal to back down in the face of ridicule, sabotage, and sexism makes her story as thrilling as her science, which offers urgent insight into today's climate crisis: Sustained planetary upheaval--not a single cataclysmic event--can plunge the planet into an age of death.
A playful deep dive into anthropomorphism (our peculiar tendency to humanize the nonhuman) that will resonate with anyone who has thrown a birthday party for their dog. Bestselling science writer Justin Gregg explores the science behind our instinct to see ourselves in the creatures and objects around us. Ours is a world filled with emotional support alligators, a woman who married her briefcase, and Soviet super babies that drink dolphin milk. Delivered with a delightful mix of scientific insight and humor, Humanish is a groundbreaking exploration of one of the most powerful--but rarely talked about--cognitive biases influencing our behavior. Through quirky stories and fascinating research, Gregg unravels the reasons behind why we treat our pets like babies, fall in love with chatbots, and talk to our cars. Discover how anthropomorphism drives both consumerism and the coming AI revolution, and how the inverse process, dehumanization, allows us to treat our fellow humans so inhumanely. Explore the brighter side of anthropomorphism's biological benefits--it helps us connect with other humans and make sense of our unpredictable world. Humanish is filled with captivating stories and invaluable ideas of how we can harness our understanding of anthropomorphism to build healthier relationships and enrich our lives.
In this magisterial book, historian Sunil Amrith twins the stories of environment and Empire, of genocide and eco-cide, of an extraordinary expansion of human freedom and its planetary costs. Drawing on an extraordinarily rich diversity of primary sources, he reckons with the ruins of Portuguese silver mining in Peru, British gold mining in South Africa, and oil extraction in Central Asia. He explores the railroads and highways that brought humans to new terrains of battle against each other and against stubborn nature. Amrith's account of the ways in which the First and Second World Wars involved the massive mobilization not only of men, but of other natural resources from around the globe, provides an essential new way of understanding war as an irreversible reshaping of the planet. So too does this book reveal the reality of migration as consequence of environmental harm. The imperial, globe-spanning pursuit of profit, joined with new forms of energy and new possibilities of freedom from hunger and discomfort, freedom to move and explore, has brought change to every inch of the Earth. Amrith relates in gorgeous prose, and on the largest canvas, a mind-altering epic--vibrant with stories, characters, and vivid images--in which humanity might find the collective wisdom to save itself.
A thrilling exploration of competing cosmological origin stories, comparing new scientific ideas that upend our very notions of space, time, and reality. By most popular accounts, the universe started with a bang some 13.8 billion years ago. But what happened before the Big Bang? And how do we know it happened at all? Here prominent cosmologist Niayesh Afshordi and science communicator Phil Halper offer a tour of the peculiar possibilities: bouncing and cyclic universes, time loops, creations from nothing, multiverses, black hole births, string theories, and holograms. Along the way, they offer both a call for new physics and a riveting story of scientific debate. Incorporating insights from Afshordi's cutting-edge research and Halper's original interviews with scientists like Stephen Hawking, Roger Penrose, and Alan Guth, Battle of the Big Bang compares these models for the origin of our origins, showing each theory's strengths and weaknesses and explaining new attempts to test these notions. Battle of the Big Bang is a tale of rivalries and intrigue, of clashes of ideas that have raged from Greek antiquity to the present day over whether the universe is eternal or had a beginning, whether it is unique or one of many. But most of all, Afshordi and Halper show that this search is filled with wonder, discovery, and community--all essential for remembering a forgotten cosmic past.
Statistical Analysis: The Basics provides an engaging and easy‑to‑read primer on this sometimes daunting subject. Intended for those with little or no background in mathematics or statistics, this book explores the importance of statistical analysis in the modern world by asking statistical questions about data and explains how to conduct such analyses and correctly interpret the results. Packed with everyday examples from sport, health, education, and leisure, it reinforces the understanding of core topics while avoiding the heavy use of equations and formulae. Written in a highly accessible style and adopting a hands‑on approach, each chapter is accompanied by a summary of key points, illustrations and tables, and recommendations for further reading, with the final chapter delving into the practicalities of conducting a real‑life statistical research project. Statistical Analysis: The Basics is essential reading for anyone who wishes to master the fundamentals of modern‑day statistical analysis.
How the idea of deep time transformed how Americans see their country and themselves During the nineteenth century, Americans were shocked to learn that the land beneath their feet had once been stalked by terrifying beasts. T. rex and Brontosaurus ruled the continent. North America was home to saber-toothed cats and woolly mammoths, great herds of camels and hippos, and sultry tropical forests now fossilized into massive coal seams. How the New World Became Old tells the extraordinary story of how Americans discovered that the New World was not just old--it was a place rooted in deep time. In this panoramic book, Caroline Winterer traces the history of an idea that today lies at the heart of the nation's identity as a place of primordial natural beauty. Europeans called America the New World, and literal readings of the Bible suggested that Earth was only six thousand years old. Winterer takes readers from glacier-capped peaks in Yosemite to Alabama slave plantations and canal works in upstate New York, describing how naturalists, explorers, engineers, and ordinary Americans unearthed a past they never suspected, a history more ancient than anyone ever could have imagined. Drawing on archival evidence ranging from unpublished field notes and letters to early stratigraphic diagrams, How the New World Became Old reveals how the deep time revolution ushered in profound changes in science, literature, art, and religion, and how Americans came to realize that the New World might in fact be the oldest world of all.
Sustainability encompasses many factors, including using renewable energy sources, water conservation, recycling, reducing waste, saving energy, cutting emissions, and supporting sustainable food sources. But how do these measures protect the environment, and what else can be done on local, national, and international levels? Environmental Sustainability: Skills & Strategies answers these questions and presents a full picture of sustainability measures for anyone who is interested in learning more about this important topic. The work begins with a comprehensive introduction that clarifies the scope of the volume in relation to the sustainability practices and goals in the modern era. This is followed by over 150 entries written with the layperson in mind, to help users better understand how sustainability can benefit us all, and what more can be done."-- Publisher.
"Readers will be introduced to topics such as: air pollution, biodiversity loss, carbon accounting & disclosure, circular economy, climate change, climate change mitigation, consumptions, deforestation, emissions, food waste, natural resources, ocean acidification, overfishing, overpopulation, plastic pollution, resource depletion, sustainable communities, sustainable food production, waste management, water conservation, and water pollution.
What will remain of our plastic, cans, and other junk long after humans have vanished?What kind of fossils will we leave, as relics into the far future? A blizzard of new objects has suddenly appeared on Earth: plastic bottles, ballpoint pens, concrete flyways, outsize chicken bones, aluminium cans, teabags, mobile phones, T-shirts. They're produced for our comfort and pleasure, then quickly discarded. The number of our constructions has exploded, to outweigh the whole living world. This new-made treasure chest underpins our lives. But it is also giving a completely new style of fossilization to our planet, as hyper-diverse and hyper-rapidly-evolving technofossils spin out of our industrialized economy. Designed to resist sun, wind, rain, corrosion and decay, and buried in soils, seafloor muds and the gigantic middens of our landfill sites, many will remain, petrified, as future geology. What will these technofossils look like, in future rock? How long will they last and how will they change, as they lie underground for decades, then millennia, then millions of years? Discarded describes how they transform as they are attacked by bacteria, baked by the Earth's inner heat, squashed by overlying rock, permeated by subterranean fluids, crumpled by mountain-building movements- and what will be left of them. These new fossils also have meaning for our lives today. For we live on a world increasingly buried under our growing waste. As our discarded artefacts begin to change into fossils, they may be swallowed by birds, entangle fish, alter microbial communities and release toxins. Even deeply buried in rock, technofossils may break down into new-formed oil and gas, change the composition of groundwater, and attract new mineral growths. They will have a lasting impact.It is a new planetary phenomenon, now unfolding around us. Scientists are only just beginning to grasp its scale, and get to grips with how it functions. This book describes, for the general reader, the kind of science that is emerging to show the far-future human footprint on Earth. It offers a different perspective upon fossils and fossilization, one that expands the idea of what people think of as fossils, and what they can tell us.
Provides a thorough introduction to the wide range of career opportunities available to those interested pursuing a rewarding career related to travel & adventure, including everything from adult basic education teacher to zoologist.
Provides a thorough introduction to the wide range of career opportunities available to those interested in the many areas of this influential industry, from acting to writing, and everything in between.
Water use and conservation in the American West have long been shaped by a host of geographic, environmental, political and economic factors. Today, though, serious questions are being raised about how western states used dams, irrigation systems, and other water-related infrastructure to transform the landscape of the West. Are current trends in water consumption across the West sustainable, given the region's arid environment and rapidly growing populations? Are so-called "water wars" between thirsty states (and between Mexico and USA) worsening? What impact will climate change have on the West's limited water resources--and the people who depend on them? This book answers all those questions and more, drawing on quantifiable facts and the knowledge and perspectives of experts on water resource consumption, administration, and conservation to provide a one-stop resource for understanding the past, present, and future of water in the American West.
The ten biggest ideas in theoretical physics that have withstood the test of time Could any discovery be more unexpected and shocking than the realization that the reality we were born into is but an approximation of an underlying quantum world that is barely within our grasp? This is just one of the foundational pillars of theoretical physics that A. Zee discusses in this book. Join him as he presents his Top Ten List of the biggest, most breathtaking ideas in physics--the ones that have fundamentally transformed our understanding of the universe. Top Ten Ideas of Physics tells a story that will keep readers enthralled, along the way explaining the meaning of each idea and how it came about. Leading the list are the notions that the physical world is comprehensible and that the laws of physics are the same here, there, and everywhere. As the story unfolds, the apparently solid world dissolves into an intertwining web of dancing fields, exhibiting greater symmetries as we examine them at deeper and deeper levels. Readers come to see how physical truth is universal, not relative, and how the forces in the multiverse are not disparate pieces but an indivisible unity--a vision only partially realized today. With Zee's trademark blend of wit and physical insight, Top Ten Ideas of Physics reveals why the book of nature is written in the language of mathematics, why entropy and information are intimately linked, and why the action principle underpins the choreography of all that exists.
A "fascinating" narrative that takes readers on an epic journey spanning disciplines, continents, and centuries that spotlights sound's incredible impact on our bodies, feelings, thinking, and behavior (Susan Cain, bestselling author of Quiet). Hearing is the first sense we develop--a primary warning instinct hardwired into our brains. And yet, in an increasingly noisy and distracted world, most people pay very little attention to sound. In school, we teach reading and writing, but not listening. Conscious listening is rare, and, with over half the world's population now living in cities, billions of people never experience the rich and health‑enhancing sounds of the natural world. Every day, the sounds around us affect our experience and fundamentally alter our quality of life, for better or worse. In four sections--geophony, the sounds of the planet; biophony, the "great animal orchestra"; anthropophony, the sounds of humanity; and silence, a sound in its own right--this book will help readers rediscover the wonder of sound and understand how powerfully it affects us, whether we're paying attention or not. It will also offer readers a manual for taking back responsibility for the sounds we consume and the sounds we make, so we can enhance our own happiness.
A theoretical physicist's grand tour of how life emerged on Earth and how human civilization will begin expanding beyond our home planet. This is a theoretical physicist's grand tour of how life emerged on Earth and, perhaps most importantly, how human civilization will begin expanding beyond our home planet. According to Dr. Adriana Marais, living on more than one planet is an inevitability of becoming a more advanced society, but the process of getting there will provide us with the essential tools for better stewardship of our own. Humanity has always looked up at the night sky and wondered what lies beyond our world. Now, we are on the precipice of stepping out among the stars, not just as lone astronauts or billionaire tech bros, but as a civilization. Our story is one of curiosity and an innate desire to explore and understand not only the world around us, but the world within us, and the worlds above us, from extremophiles to extraterrestrials, technosignatures to terraforming, DNA to Dyson Spheres. In this sweeping treatise on exploration, innovation, and human ingenuity, theoretical physicist Dr. Adriana Marais seeks to answer the questions that stand at the heart of scientific endeavor: What are the building blocks of life and how does life emerge? Are we alone in the universe and if so, why? How did we get here--and where are we going next?
Learn how to design algebra lessons that are responsive to all students' experiences. An essential understanding of the uses and practices of algebra remain out of reach for many students. In this book, award-winning researcher Dr. Nicole Fonger addresses the issue of how to support all learners to experience algebra as meaningful. In a highly visual approach, the book details four research-based lenses with examples from 9th-grade algebra classrooms: (1) students' algebraic reasoning and representing; (2) goal-directed classroom practices with technology; (3) culturally and historically responsive algebra literacy; and (4) teachers' journeys toward antiracism. The author makes connections among research in algebra education; teaching algebra; and leading ambitious, equitable, and antiracist visions for algebra education. By the end of this book, you will: Learn how to support students to fluently reason and represent expressions, equations, and functions. Learn how to design algebra lessons that are culturally and historically responsive to students' experiences and social justice issues. Learn to use sketchnotes to reflect on and communicate complex ideas in teaching and learning algebra. Have a set of tools for guiding the design of instruction to support meaningful algebra learning for all students.
A moving and motivating collection of portraits of extinct species, revealing the profound implications of their disappearance. This book presents thirty-one extinct species through personal portraits. The intimate approach not only highlights each particular species but also explores the broader implications of losing a species forever. How do we honor such a loss? Can we grieve for species we never knew? These animals range from the well-known passenger pigeon, thylacine, and great auk, to lesser-known creatures like the Arabian ostrich, Saint Helena earwig, and Bramble Cay melomys. Through her poignant portraits, Barbara Allen not only tugs on the heartstrings but also aims to inspire readers to protect vulnerable and endangered species today, motivating us to play a positive role in conserving our planet's biodiversity.
Get loopy with this playful introduction to the hopeful, transformative possibilities of circular systems! Nature works on a cycle, where everything in the loop has value and nothing is wasted. But modern humans have created a different kind of system: it's less like a circle and more like a line. We take, make, use and then, when those things break or we're finished with them, we toss them away. But our planet's resources are limited, and we've taken too much. That's why all over the world, people are reusing, repurposing, repairing and designing waste out of the system! Explore the ways that people everywhere are creating a loopier world: from growing building materials out of fungi to designing headphones (and cellphones!) that last, to producing vehicles that run on renewable energy. Plus, kids and families have a role to play, too. Loop de Loop introduces young readers to repair cafés, toy rentals, tool libraries and many more fun, innovative ways to build community and a more sustainable world. Includes a list of ways children can take part in circular systems, along with a glossary and sources for further reading. Key Text Features Illustrations glossary definitions further reading Correlates to the Common Core State Standards in English Language Arts: CCSS.ELA-LITERACY.RI.K.8 With prompting and support, identify the reasons an author gives to support points in a text. CCSS.ELA-LITERACY.RI.1.2 Identify the main topic and retell key details of a text.
Journalist Dom Phillips traveled deep into the Amazon rainforest searching for solutions to the problem of deforestation, a threat to the local ecosystem, native tribes, and the global climate. When he was murdered in the Javari Valley by a group of environmental criminals, a cohort of journalists and activists took up his work to finish his book and share his important message. During the dark days of the Bolsonaro administration, British journalist Dom Phillips set out to accomplish an ambitious goal: through research, interviews, and site visits deep in the rainforest, he would emerge with a book answering the question--how can we save the Amazon? Traveling with his companion Indigenous expert Bruno Pereira, Dom's adventure includes trekking through Amazonia to see where ranching, fires, illegal fishing, mining, the drug trade, and urbanization have deforested and degraded millions of acres of important forest, degraded ecosystems, and created dangerous conditions for the Indigenous tribes who have called the Amazon home for thousands of years. Jair Bolsonaro came into power on a platform of anti-environmental exploitation and deregulation. During his term, deforestation in the Amazon, the "lungs of Planet Earth," increased exponentially as environmental criminals took advantage of lax rules, advantageous land use policy, and the difficulty of enforcing laws in a remote area of immense size. Lawlessness reigned and environmental activists found themselves in danger. With the intention of discovering strategies to protect both the land and the people who inhabit it, Dom connected with politicians, farmers, and Indigenous activists to study the benefits and pitfalls of solutions like agroforestry, tourism, and the bioeconomy. While traveling by boat in the Javari Valley, Dom and Bruno were brutally murdered. Unwilling to see her late husband's work be for naught, Dom's widow, Ale, and his literary agent assembled a team of expert writers, journalists, and activists to complete his work, with each tackling one unfinished chapter and grappling with the challenge of interpreting his field notes and discovering his conclusions. How to Save the Amazon, therefore, is a book both by and about Dom Phillips, his quest for answers, and his search for hope. "A work of courage interrupted by tragedy. . . No book speaks more persuasively to the importance of the Amazon and the dangers that it faces." --Elizabeth Kolbert, Pulitzer Prize-winning author of The Sixth Extinction "We can't let life on this earth be snuffed out; this powerful book will help us rise to this challenge."--Bill McKibben, author of The End of Nature
We use water, electricity, and the internet every day--but how do they actually work? And what's the plan to keep them running for years to come? This nonfiction science graphic novel takes readers on a journey from how the most essential systems were developed to how they are implemented in our world today and how they will be used in the future. What was the first message sent over the internet? How much water does a single person use every day? How was the electric light invented? For every utility we use each day, there's a hidden history--a story of intrigue, drama, humor, and inequity. This graphic novel provides a guided tour through the science of the past--and reveals how the decisions people made while inventing and constructing early technology still affect the way people use it today. Full of art, maps, and diagrams, Hidden Systems is a thoughtful, humorous exploration of the history of science and what needs to be done now to change the future.
You may not realize it, but many of the manufactured objects that are part of our everyday lives have been created with the aid of CNC (Computer Numeric Control) technology. From the auto, food, construction, and medical industries to manufacturing of components of all sizes, on a variety of materials such as wood, metal, cardboard, plastic, and more, CNC machines are often behind the processes. While CNC machining has been around since the 1960s, it wasn't until relatively recently that the machines and the software that runs them have become more versatile, affordable, and accessible to the masses. As a result, more CNCs are being used than ever, by professional machinists and hobbyists alike. CNC Beginner's Guide presents the topic in a logical fashion, progressing from basics to more advanced subjects, using hands-on, project-based activities throughout. While the processes might be similar from one CNC machine to the next, every machine is inherently different in the way it behaves, the kinds of forces it is able to handle, and how it executes the work at hand, along with the level of precision it is capable of. Thompson helps readers of all skill levels navigate the nuances so they can become more proficient and efficient CNC machinists. This fantastic work includes important information on tooling and fundamentals of cutting feeds and speeds. The appendix contains vital machining equations, tables of standard values, and suggested starting points for creating and tweaking your personalized tool libraries. An accompanying website rounds out the package with tutorial videos to help readers learn how to use the software and apply the concepts in the book to actual CNC programs. Unique Features Inside tips and tricks from a CNC professional with a broad background of art, engineering, architecture, and teaching. In-depth discussions of using Fusion, the design environment and basic drawing tools, and CAD, the manufacturing environment, as well as creating programs for running on CNC machines. An affiliated website, www.cncbeginner.com, is perfect for visual learners, with helpful online video tutorials, color photographs, and graphs seen in the book with more detailed explanation.
The unprecedented inside story of the people pushing boundaries of science and technology to build better weather forecasts--providing life-saving warnings and crucial intelligence about nature's deadliest threats Killer tornadoes. Catastrophic hurricanes. Lethal heat waves. Across the United States and around the world, extreme weather events bring an unending torrent of death and destruction. One indispensable tool consistently offers the ability to help reduce the impact of these calamities: the weather forecast. For centuries, humans have sought to foretell nature's next moves, from ancient farmers to trailblazers of the Space Age, who brought computers and satellites to bear on the problem. Now a new wave of advances, including artificial intelligence and data-gathering drones, makes it possible to accurately detect these fearsome events further in advance. They provide critical time to prepare and get people out of harm's way--an undertaking made ever more urgent by the effects of climate change. In a remarkable tale of innovation and perseverance, veteran journalist Thomas E. Weber takes readers into the world of the pioneers creating these game-changing forecasts. From storm chasers racing to hunt twisters and physicists unraveling the secrets of the atmosphere, from scientists studying how people react to warnings to humanitarian groups rushing to avert famines, Weber goes behind the scenes to show how predictions keep getting better. He explains what's needed to turn these forecasts into actions that prevent tragedies and how anyone can become more weather literate to protect themselves in emergencies. Cloud Warriors will change the way you think about treacherous weather--and the power of being able to see it coming.
Sustainability and its competitive advantage are the goals of every company and any brand that wants to stay successful in the marketplace. Customers also gravitate to brands that manage sustainability issues well. Greener Products: The Making and Marketing of Sustainable Brands written by a renowned sustainability expert, continues to address the latest developments in the extremely fast-moving field of sustainability. The third edition is thoroughly updated, introduces new case studies, and includes a new chapter on green marketing. With over 40 case studies, it explores the best practices of leading global companies and helps readers learn what it is that makes them successful. New in the Third Edition: Presents, in a practical way, the best practices of sustainable brands in a global economy. Addresses the most current sustainability topics like circular economy, plastics in the environment, biodiversity, climate change, green chemistry, etc. Includes current marketing information on consumer trends to purchase greener products. Incorporates the latest pressures on companies to address sustainability, retailer programs, business-to-business expectations, ESG raters, rankers, and stock funds. Covers best practices of companies from various industries on how to make and market greener products. Provides current tools for making products more sustainable and methods on how to market sustainable improvements. Includes lecture slides available upon request for use in the classroom. This book serves senior undergraduate and graduate students in programs focused on sustainability, as well as academics and corporate sustainability leaders. The previous versions have been used to teach courses on sustainability, product improvement, introduction to sustainability, green marketing and sustainability, and sustainability policy. Any university that teaches a course on sustainability and any company or individual interested in making and marketing more sustainable products would benefit from the new edition of this book.
In May 2016, Fort McMurray, the hub of Canada's oil industry and America's biggest foreign supplier, was overrun by wildfire. The multi-billion-dollar disaster melted vehicles, turned entire neighborhoods into firebombs, and drove 88,000 people from their homes in a single afternoon. Through the lens of this apocalyptic conflagration--the wildfire equivalent of Hurricane Katrina--John Vaillant warns that this was not a unique event, but a shocking preview of what we must prepare for in a hotter, more flammable world. Fire has been a partner in our evolution for hundreds of millennia, shaping culture, civilization, and, very likely, our brains. Fire has enabled us to cook our food, defend and heat our homes, and power the machines that drive our titanic economy. Yet this volatile energy source has always threatened to elude our control, and in our new age of intensifying climate change, we are seeing its destructive power unleashed in previously unimaginable ways. With masterly prose and a cinematic eye, Vaillant takes us on a riveting journey through the intertwined histories of North America's oil industry and the birth of climate science, to the unprecedented devastation wrought by modern forest fires, and into lives forever changed by these disasters. John Vaillant's urgent work is a book for--and from--our new century of fire, which has only just begun.