Kish Guides: Sports and Physical Fitness: Bowling

Databases of interest

EBSCO eBook Collection

eBooks for community college students and individual eBooks purchased by the library to help you with your class assignments and research projects.

Available on and off campus. Enter Kishwaukee College in the Find My Institution screen to get to the Kish sign-in screen. After you search and find an ebook, choose "Access now" or "Access options" to read the ebook.
EBSCO eBook Open Access Collection

This e-book collection contains thousands of high-quality open access (OA) e-books from the world’s most trusted university presses and scholarly publishers.

Available on and off campus. Enter Kishwaukee College in the Find My Institution screen to get to the Kish sign-in screen.
LearningExpress

LearningExpress has ebooks, tutorials, and practice tests to improve academic and workplace skills, explore careers, and prepare for occupational certification exams. It also offers resources to help you prepare for college, join the military, become a U.S. citizen, earn a high school equivalency, and much more.

Available on and off campus.
MAS Complete

MAS Complete contains full text for hundreds of popular magazines and e-books covering news, politics, science, sports, culture, and more. It includes primary source documents and videos from the Associated Press.

Available on and off campus. Enter Kishwaukee College in the Find My Institution screen to get to the Kish sign-in screen.
NoveList+

Each book description includes reviews, awards, reading and lexile level, genre, style, themes, read-alikes, and connections to diverse reads.

Available on and off campus. Enter Kishwaukee College in the Find My Institution screen to get to the Kish sign-in screen.
OverDrive

Downloadable ebooks through a shared Illinois community college library project.

Available on and off campus. App to borrow and download ebooks.
Professional Development Collection

A collection targeted to professional educators and students pursuing a career in education.

Available on and off campus. Enter Kishwaukee College in the Find My Institution screen to get to the Kish sign-in screen.
Visible Body Human Anatomy Atlas 2021

For biology, anatomy, nursing, and healthcare students. 3D interactive human anatomy models. After clicking into this database, ignore the pop-up resources selection screen in the middle of the page and click on "Visible Body" in the blue bar toward the top of page.

Available on and off campus. For app version, use this link: https://proxy.openathens.net/login?entityID=https://idp.kish.edu/openathens&_oafollow=false&qurl=https%3A%2F%2Fovid.visiblebody.com%2Fmobile

New books

Open Play : the case for feminist sport by Sheree Bekker; Stephen Mumford
Call Number: GV709.B45 2025

ISBN: 9781836390534

Publication Date: 2025-03-12

A thought-provoking manifesto arguing for the end of gender segregation in athletics. Sheree Bekker and Stephen Mumford argue that the category of "women's sports" is not the feminist win some would have you believe. Instead, the segregation of women in sports is just one of the many ways in which women are told to expect less from society. Women had to fight to be included in sports in the first place, and are now only included under far less favorable terms than those enjoyed by men. There are better ways to ensure safety and fairness, the authors make clear, than segregation by gender. And this matters deeply: ending gender segregation would encourage a more equitable distribution of resources, increase women's participation in sports, and challenge outdated, sexist myths about women and their bodies.