Health Sciences Resource Guide

The body is the most complex machine in the world, and the only one for which you cannot get a replacement part from the manufacturer. For centuries, medicine has reached for what's available--sculpting noses from brass, borrowing skin from frogs and hearts from pigs, crafting eye parts from jet canopies and breasts from petroleum by-products. Today we're attempting to grow body parts from scratch using stem cells and 3D printers. How are we doing? Are we there yet? In Replaceable You, Mary Roach explores the remarkable advances and difficult questions prompted by the human body's failings. When and how does a person decide they'd be better off with a prosthetic than their existing limb? Can a donated heart be made to beat forever? Can an intestine provide a workable substitute for a vagina? Roach dives in with her characteristic verve and infectious wit. Her travels take her to the OR at a legendary burn unit in Boston, a "superclean" xeno-pigsty in China, and a stem cell "hair nursery" in the San Diego tech hub. She talks with researchers and surgeons, amputees and ostomates, printers of kidneys and designers of wearable organs. She spends time in a working iron lung from the 1950s, stays up all night with recovery techs as they disassemble and reassemble a tissue donor, and travels across Mongolia with the cataract surgeons of Orbis International. Irrepressible and accessible, Replaceable You immerses readers in the wondrous, improbable, and surreal quest to build a new you.

Save time and money with two books in one!   Half pharmacology, half dosage calculations--plus an intensive, yet clear & simple review of basic math and online quizzing! Here's the must-have knowledge and guidance students need to gain a solid understanding of pharmacology and the safe administration of medications in one text. A body systems approach to pharmacology with a basic math review and a focus on drug classifications prepare them to administer specific drugs in the clinical setting.   New & Updated! Thoroughly reviewed and updated medication data to reflect the most current information and best practices Updated & Expanded! Coverage of procedures for ensuring safe administration Expanded & Revised! Layout and placement of tables, boxes, and figures to make important concepts easy to grasp Expanded! More dosage calculation problems to provide additional hands-on practice All objectives for each chapter reviewed and aligned with CAAHEP and ABHES competencies. Basic math review helps students learn to perform the calculations necessary to administer medications correctly. Medication administration presented through pharmacology basics, techniques and procedures, supplies, safety and regulations, and prescriptions and labels. "Master the Essentials" tables cover side effects, precautions, contraindications, and interactions for each classification. Drug classification review tables reinforce need-to-know information to each class. "Fast Tip" boxes offer quick facts and mnemonics. "A Closer Look" boxes examine important information in detail. "Check-up Questions" throughout each chapter promote understanding and help students retain and apply the information. Coverage of specific medications provides context for learning drug classifications. Critical-thinking exercises encourage students to think beyond the chapter and apply their new knowledge to real-life scenarios. Review questions at the end of each chapter reinforce learning.  

Supports nursing practice and clinical judgment better than any other manual! Written by a laboratory scientist and a nurse educator, this easy-to-read, full-color manual delivers all the information you need to understand how tests work, interpret their results, and provide quality patient care--pre-test, intra-test, and post-test.   With a nursing focus and an emphasis on clinical judgment, this manual provides interpretive guidance on the reasons for the studies and explains why they are important, and what it means for nurses and the care they provide to their patients. Tests and procedures are listed in alphabetical order by their complete name for quick reference. The integrated index allows fast searches by abbreviation, synonym, disease/disorder, specimen type, or test classification.   New & Updated! The most current information as well as new diagnostic tests, terminology, changes in health care and how the content relates to nursing New & Updated! Tab-like labels to quickly identify core lab and diagnostic studies frequently seen in practice and the addition of a list of core studies to the Critical Findings appendices as well as labels for the "Point of Care" studies New & Updated! Online instructor test bank organized by body system with page number references Focus on Clinical Judgment with "Nursing Implications, Nursing Process, Clinical Judgment" sections, plus a clinical judgment icon in each "Nursing Implications" section, and a "Clinical Judgment" statement at the end of every entry "Student Decision Making Model" to help learners visualize critical thinking and clinical judgment "Core Lab Study" labels identifying 35 need-to-know, clinically significant laboratory studies "Potential Nursing Problems" tables that present problems, signs and symptoms, and interventions related to the study Reference Ranges in both conventional and SI units (with the SI unit conversion factor) that include age- and gender-specific variations when indicated and normal variations due to cultural considerations Interfering Factors, including food, natural products, timing of test, handling of specimens, underlying patient conditions, and drugs that may interfere with the results of the test  

Introduces students and researchers to the fundamentals of overall wellness, exploring topics such as mental health, physical health, social connectivity, financial stability, emotional satisfaction, occupational success, environmental awareness, and spiritual fulfillment.

Today's students have expressed a strong preference for multiple modes of information delivery, including visual, auditory and kinesthetic. Medical Terminology Doodles by Karen Sladyk, PhD, OTR/L, FAOTA, suggests that, when learning medical terminology, there's evidence that a multi-sensory approach that includes doodling can promote better knowledge retention than traditional learning methods. Medical Terminology Doodles offers 268 of the most common medical terms to explore and learn through doodling. By drawing or doodling related images, students will create permanent connections between the brain and the terms, as well as their root words, prefixes, and suffixes. Study hints, spelling hints, and sample illustrations are offered for each of the words, but students are also encouraged to personalize their learning by assigning meaning to the terms and creating their own "art." Using visual cues to remember information will encourage students to review the material at hand, and will also help them understand the way that terms connect to larger medical concepts. Medical Terminology Doodles is a must have for students looking for a unique manner in which to engage with complicated scientific material. On the road to becoming a successful practitioner in the health professions, you can never underestimate the power of a doodle!

The largest organ in the human body, our skin plays a vital but often overlooked role in our physical health and can have a major impact on our self-esteem and emotional well-being. Part of the Q&A Health Guides series, this book offers a broad introduction to healthy skin - a topic that can have a tremendous impact on our physical and mental well-being. The book begins with questions covering the structure of skin, its many functions, how it repairs itself after damage, and how it changes as we age. Next, the book explores proper skincare, helping readers separate scientific fact from beauty industry hype. Readers will discover how to protect skin from UV damage, pollution, and other environmental hazards. Acne, rosacea, eczema, and other common dermatological conditions are also covered. The final group of questions examines the potential benefits and risks of a wide variety of cosmetic procedures, from chemical peels to injectable fillers. Augmenting the main text, a collection of 5 case studies illustrate key concepts and issues through relatable stories and insightful recommendations. The Common Misconceptions section at the beginning of the volume dispels 5 long-standing and potentially dangerous myths about healthy skin, directing readers to additional information in the text. The glossary defines terms that may be unfamiliar to readers, while the directory of resources curates a list of the most useful books, websites, and other materials. Finally, whether they're looking for more information about this subject or any other health-related topic, readers can turn to the Guide to Health Literacy section for practical tools and strategies for finding, evaluating, and using credible sources of health information both on and off the internet.

A myth-busting vindication of women's physical strengths that's "fun, rooted in science, and a strong pitch for a stronger sex" (Cat Bohannon) For decades, Starre Vartan--like most women--was told that having a woman's body meant being weaker than men. Like many women, she mostly believed it.   Not anymore.   Following a half decade of research into the newest science, Vartan shows in The Stronger Sex that women's bodies are incredibly powerful, flexible, and resilient in ways men's bodies aren't. Tossing aside the narrow notion of a fully ripped man as the measure of strength, Vartan reveals the ways that women surpass men in endurance, flexibility, immunity, pain tolerance, and the ultimate test of any human body: longevity. Vartan--a deadeye shot since her grandmother showed her how to aim a .22--debunks myth after myth like so many tin cans at two hundred yards and reveals why, if anyone wins in a battle of the sexes, it's women.  In interviews with dozens of researchers from biology, anthropology, physiology, and sports science, plus in-depth conversations with runners, swimmers, wrestlers, woodchoppers, thru-hikers, firefighters, and more, The Stronger Sex squashes outdated ideas about women's bodies. It's a celebration of female strength that doesn't argue "down with men" but "up with us all."  

Maternity & Pediatric Nursing Made Incredibly Easy! The ultimate guide for nurses and students seeking to deepen their knowledge and confidence in maternity and pediatric nursing. Packed with practical tools and inclusive language, this first edition is ideal for nurses of all levels--from beginners to seasoned professionals--looking for a resource they can rely on.   Whether you're a nursing student on your clinical rotation or a practicing nurse needing a refresher, this book has you covered. It simplifies complex topics through clear writing, expert insights, and easy-to-digest formatting. Provides comprehensive coverage, including: Maternity Care: Family planning, conception, prenatal care, labor and birth, postpartum assessments, care for the neonate, and potential complications. Pediatric Nursing: Developmental care for infants to adolescents and commonly encountered pediatric conditions related to cardiovascular, respiratory, and gastrointestinal systems. Features you'll love: Memory Joggers - Handy tips to help you retain critical knowledge. Advice from the Experts - Insights and real-world practices from skilled nurses. It's All Relative - Essential topics for educating patients and their families. Growing Pains - Comprehensive guidance on age-specific stages, expectations, and challenges. Quick Quizzes - Test your understanding at the end of each chapter. Written by a team of dedicated nurse experts, this text is crafted to help you deliver exceptional, culturally sensitive, and family-centered care. Elevate your nursing expertise today with Maternity & Pediatric Nursing Made Incredibly Easy!

Health Assessment Made Incredibly Easy! 4th Edition is illustrated with hundreds of drawings, diagrams, and photos to support easy-to-follow, expert nursing instruction on many of the skills needed for head-to-toe physical assessments of every body system. The step-by-step guidance builds your confidence to perform thorough, accurate health assessments from the minute you start your career.   Key features help you move through the content with confidence: Peak technique illustrates and describes the best ways to perform specific physical examination techniques. Bridging the gap explains cultural variables that may influence the health assessment. Handle with care pinpoints age-related variations in assessment findings. Interpretation station provides sure-fire guidelines for interpreting assessment findings quickly and easily. Memory jogger helps the reader remember important points. Just for fun provides quick-study information in a gamelike format.   And that's not all! Look for key points in the margins throughout the book. They are there to explain key concepts, provide important care reminders, and offer reassurance.   ,

Reviewing fundamentals serves to strengthen understanding and skills. Fundamentals of Nursing Made Incredibly Easy, Third Edition, is an easy-to-use resource for the nurse, the nursing student, and the nursing instructor. The book is structured into three comprehensive sections: Foundational Concepts - Offering an overview of the nursing profession, coupled with insights into health care, ethical and legal considerations, and the intricacies of the nursing process. General Nursing Skills - Covering essential skills such as communication, health assessment, vital sign monitoring, infection control, and medication basics. Physiologic Needs - Diving into critical care areas including oxygenation, patient self-care, mobility, skin integrity, pain management, and nutrition, along with urinary and bowel elimination.   New topics include Healthy People 2030 Nutrition and MyPlate.gov Social media relating to the profession of nursing Wound care current practice Medication and bar code scanning

Designed to help health care professionals who are looking for a simple, step-by-step approach to math calculations, Dosage Calculations Made Incredibly Easy! 6th edition is a fully illustrated guide that offers the complete how-to on calculating dosages for all drug forms and administration routes. It explains how to work with different formulas such as ratios, proportions, ratio proportions, and the "Desired Over Have" formula. Whether you have a little or a lot of experience working with formulas, conversions, or rounding numbers, the information in this book will help you apply medication administration principles in the clinical setting. Topics include: math basics such as fractions, decimals, and percentages measurement systems and conversions calculating oral, topical, liquid, and rectal drug dosages calculating parenteral injections and IV infusions calculating pediatric, obstetric, and critical care dosages recording drug administration   An easy-reference format with clearly worded, bulleted content with plenty of photos, illustrations, and diagrams gives you step-by-step direction on: calculating dosages of all kinds starting an infusion, including IV guidelines choosing administration equipment dealing with poor handwriting understanding medication labels and drug abbreviations avoiding common drug errors   Plus, you'll get all these learning aids and tips: Full-color inserts on improving patient safety by using infusion devices and the anatomy of a medication label. Appendices include multiple choice Q&A; drug therapy conversions chart; dosage calculation formulas table; and glossary with key terms and definitions. Before you give that drug! - Crucial advice on avoiding medication errors. Advice from the experts - Tips on ensuring accurate dosages.

A vast subject that includes a strange vocabulary and an apparent mass of facts, human anatomy can at first appear confusing and off-putting. But the basic construction of the human body - the skeleton, the organs of the chest and abdomen, the nervous system, the head and neck with its sensory systems and anatomy for breathing and swallowing - is vital for anyone studying medicine, biology, and health studies. In this Very Short Introduction Leslie Klenerman provides a clear, concise, and accessible introduction to the structure, function, and main systems of the human body, including a number of clear and simple illustrations to explain the key areas.

What is pain? Has the experience of pain always been the same? How is pain related to the emotions, to culture, and to pleasure? What happens to us when we feel pain? How does pain work in the body and in the brain? In this Very Short Introduction, Rob Boddice explores the history, culture, and medical science of pain. Charting the shifting meanings of pain across time and place, he focuses on how the experience and treatment of pain have changed. He describes historical hierarchies of pain experience that related pain to social class and race, and the privileging of human states of pain over that of other animals. From the pain concepts of classical antiquity to expressions of pain in contemporary art, and modern medical approaches to the understanding, treatment, and management of pain, Boddice weaves a multifaceted account of this central human experience. Ranging from neuroscientific innovations in experimental medicine to the constructionist arguments of social scientists, pain is shown to resist a timeless definition. Pain is physical and emotional, of body and mind, and is always experienced subjectively and contextually.

Anatomy is a branch of biology that is concerned with the identification and description of living organisms' internal structures. It comes from the Greek words ana and tomia, which mean up and cutting, respectively, and denotes cutting up or dissection when combined. The present book describes the historical aspects of anatomy, Anatomy of humans, Veterinary Anatomy and plants. This book also covered technological adoption in anatomy education. Use of virtual lab, three-Dimensional Digital Simulations, cloud technology, and Artificial intelligence in Anatomy education has also been covered. This book will be helpful for students, researchers and scholars to understand the complexity of anatomical structures of humans, animals and plants.

Very Short Introductions: Brilliant, Sharp, InspiringInfectious disease is a moving target: new diseases emerge every year, old diseases evolve into new forms, and ecological and socioeconomic upheavals change the transmission pathways that spread disease. But where does disease come from? How is it transmitted from one person to another? And why are some individuals more susceptible than others?In this Very Short Introduction, Marta Wayne and Benjamin Bolker address these questions through the lenses of ecology and evolution. Assessing the management of outbreaks of diseases such as influenza, HIV/AIDS, cholera, and COVID-19, they provide specific examples to illustrate why major diseases still threaten populations all over the world.