Library Services
Book Collection: Nonfiction is a cross-curricular database providing abstracts and searchable full text for thousands of popular nonfiction books. It covers core subject areas as well as information on careers, health, sports, adventure, technology, life skills, and more.
A collection of ebooks on a variety of subjects, shared with other Illinois college libraries.
eBbooks covering a wide range of topics such as self-help, fitness, games, hobbies, and cooking, featuring titles for adults and juveniles. Generally not intended for college research.
This e-book collection contains thousands of high-quality open access (OA) e-books from the world’s most trusted university presses and scholarly publishers.
LearningExpress has ebooks, tutorials, and practice tests to improve academic and workplace skills, explore careers, and prepare for occupational certification exams. It also offers resources to help you prepare for college, join the military, become a U.S. citizen, earn a high school equivalency, and much more.
For public libraries, so may not be suitable for classwork. Contains reference ebook content.
Scholarly ebooks from Oxford University Press through a shared Illinois college and university library collection. To narrow the search to nonrestricted items, in the blue box on the left, click on the checkboxes for Unlocked, Free, & Open Access, then click on Submit.
Exploration of careers in many fields. Each career profile includes a description of the career duties, work environment, educational requirements, and employment outlook.
The Time Magazine Archive presents an extensive collection of the weekly news magazine (1923-2000) and is presented in a comprehensive cover-to-cover format.
Articles and professional association content about turfgrass.
Ebooks from the publisher Wiley through a shared Illinois college and university library collection.
An indispensable analysis of how the world really produces and consumes its food--and a scientist's exploration of how we can successfully feed a growing population without killing the planet We have never had to feed as many people as we do today. And yet, we misunderstand the essentials of where our food really comes from, how our dietary requirements shape us, and why this impacts our planet in drastic ways. As a result, in our economic, political, and everyday choices, we take for granted and fail to prioritize the thing that makes all our lives possible: food. In this ambitious, myth-busting book, Smil investigates many of the burning questions facing the world today: why are some of the world's biggest food producers also the countries with the most undernourished populations? Why do we waste so much food and how can we solve that? Could the whole planet go vegan and be healthy? Should it? He explores the global history of food production to understand why we farm some animals and not others, why most of the world's calories come from just a few foodstuffs, and how this might change in the future. How to Feed the World is the data-based, rigorously researched guide that offers solutions to our broken global food system.
A visual feast of garden design inspiration that embraces diversity and teaches you how to create a lush, colorful, edible, and meaningful garden wonderland of your own. "Through story and imagery,Garden Wonderlandreminds us over and over thatplants should be part of everyday for everyone- as food, experience, memory, and creativity."-Jennifer Jewell, creator and host of the Cultivating Place public radio program and podcast, and author of What We Sow Award-winning garden designer Leslie Bennett creates gardens filled with stunning layers of color and texture. But even more than that, they "feed the eye and nourish the soul" (Elle Decor). Featuring practical how-to information alongside examples from nineteen gardens, Bennett shows how to incorporate personal and edible elements into the landscape to honor a variety of cultures, while including families of all shapes and sizes, to create space that nurtures self, community, and more. For example, the team designed a garden for the cofounder of the Dr. Huey P. Newton Foundation to showcase art from emerging Black artists, while for a vegan chef's garden, they incorporated unusual vegetables that can't be found in grocery stores. A garden for a daughter of diplomats reflects the many places she's lived around the world; for a family that wants to beautify their neighborhood, they designed a vibrant community-oriented front yard. With chapters on floral, edible, gathering, healing, and cultural wonderlands, Bennett provides advice for tailoring a garden to your own needs, whether it's a place to host elegant garden parties, for children to play, to grow your own food and creativity, or a sanctuary to rest and relax. In Garden Wonderland, Bennett helps you unlock the potential of your garden to become a space of inspiring natural beauty, abundance, connection, and belonging.
Our Renewable Energy Future delves into the clean energy technology evolution and where our energy system is going. While the book's foundation is technology innovation, it brings a unique perspective that technology alone is not what has brought about the explosive growth of renewable energy and offers fresh insights into how technology, economics, social dynamics, policy, and geopolitics are forces affecting our energy future. This book is a culmination of Dr Arent's lifelong passion for energy, sustainable development, and renewable energy technology. It covers the journey of evolving technology, economics, political economy and geopolitics of clean energy over the last 40 years and provides insights for the coming decades. From a technology perspective, the book traces the arc of recent innovations and synthesizes innovations across multiple interacting perspectives into a description of Our Renewable Energy Future.