Kish Guides: Early Childhood Education Research Guide: Citation Help (MLA, APA)

Citation Help

Select the appropriate Citation Style on the left.

NoodleTools Suite of Software

NoodleTools
Citation generator for APA, MLA, or Chicago-Style citation pages (Reference, Works Cited, Bibliography). You pick what type of source and where you got it from, and then fill in the wizard to generate your formatted page. Export the final product to add it onto the end of your paper, or share it with your teacher online. Try the notecard feature, too!

NoodleTools How To Guide & Video Tutorials
NoodleTools is a software that streamlines the paper-writing process. Read this guide and learn more!
NoodleTools For Faculty
Instructions for Faculty to set up their NoodleTools Inbox

Citation Help Available in the Library & Tutoring Services Department (A-1100)

Citation Help Appointment
If you have a question about citing a source or using MLA or APA styles make an appointment with the librarian.
Your instructor may have very specific citation expectations, so be sure to consult them as well!
Writing Lab
Make an appointment in Accudemia for assistance from our Writing Lab Tutors.
Visit the Writing Lab, online or in-person in Library & Tutoring Services (A-1100).
Writing tutors can help you with citations, grammar, and other writing skills.

Online Tools for Citing Sources

Use online citation tools!
Citing online articles can be a little tricky.
Get some help from your online search system!
Here's how:

Use automatically-generated citations: Article database systems like EBSCO Host generate sample citations for their articles.
Check your automatic citations: Automatically-generated citations often contain errors. Be sure to check them for accuracy using either your student writer's handbook, or an online tool like Purdue University Online Writing Lab (OWL).

NoodleTools
Citation generator for APA, MLA, or Chicago-Style citation pages (Reference, Works Cited, Bibliography). You pick what type of source and where you got it from, and then fill in the wizard to generate your formatted page. Export the final product to add it onto the end of your paper, or share it with your teacher online. Try the notecard feature, too!

MLA Citation Style Guidelines

Based on the MLA Handbook, 9th Edition.

The guides below will help you with MLA Style citations.

MLA Handbook by Modern Language Association of America
Call Number: LB 2369 .G53 2021 Reference Collection
ISBN: 9781603295611
Publication Date: 2021-05-17

NoodleTools
Citation generator for APA, MLA, or Chicago-Style citation pages (Reference, Works Cited, Bibliography). You pick what type of source and where you got it from, and then fill in the wizard to generate your formatted page. Export the final product to add it onto the end of your paper, or share it with your teacher online. Try the notecard feature, too!

Citing books, articles, and web pages in MLA Style
Examples of source citations, sample Works Cited page, and In-Text Citation examples.
Books (MLA Style)
Cite books and book chapters
Articles from EBSCO Host (MLA Style)
Cite magazine, journal, and newspaper articles from the Library's EBSCO Host system
Web Pages (MLA Style)
CIte web pages in MLA citation format
In-Text Citations (MLA Style)
Cite sources within the text of your research paper or essay using parenthetical references

APA Citation Style Guidelines

APA Publication Manual 7th Edition by American Psychological Association
Call Number: BF76.7 .P83 2020 Reference Collection
ISBN: 9781433832154
Publication Date: 2019-10-01

APA stands for American Psychological Association, a professional group that sets guidelines for citing sources in psychology, nursing, and other fields.

The guides below will help you with APA Style.

NoodleTools
Citation generator for APA, MLA, or Chicago-Style citation pages (Reference, Works Cited, Bibliography). You pick what type of source and where you got it from, and then fill in the wizard to generate your formatted page. Export the final product to add it onto the end of your paper, or share it with your teacher online. Try the notecard feature, too!

Reference Source Examples and References Page Setup (APA 7th ed.)
Examples of how to cite books, journal articles, and website articles. Sample References page and in-text citation format.
APA 7th edition Tips and Notes
Overview of major revisions in APA 7th edition
Running head setup in Microsoft Word
Step-by-step instructions on setting up a running head in Microsoft Word