Disability Pride Month

Bringing together a set of first-person accounts of physical education from the perspectives of disabled children and adults, this book puts disabled people's voices in the foreground. The book provides a rich set of case study material that deepens our understanding of the experiences of disabled people and challenges students, researchers, and practitioners to reflect critically upon their own positionality. The first part of the book discusses the ways in which disability has been conceptualized, how the voices of disabled people have sometimes been marginalized, and how nondisability power has historically framed the narratives of disabled people in physical education literature. It also discusses the innovative methods used in this book--such as storytelling through recorded conversations and drawings in addition to more traditional chapter writing--to empower disabled children and adults to act as authors of their own stories. Then the book presents the stories themselves in a variety of written, narrative, and alternative formats, a series of authentic accounts of the lived experiences of disabled people in physical education. Finally, the book concludes with the editors' final thoughts and reflections about this collection of stories that can be used in the classroom to foster dialogue and encourage critical thinking. Importantly, these prompts have been co-constructed between the editors and the disabled people themselves. This book is essential reading for any course in adapted physical education, physical education, or disability, for any pre- or in-service teacher, instructor, or coach working with disabled people, and for people who experience disability or their families with an interest in education, physical activity, or methods for elevating the voices of disabled people.

Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD) is the second most impactful condition on young people's health in the United States. But ADHD is a complex disorder and is often misunderstood or stereotyped as just a few symptoms. ADHD may present with many different symptoms. Social factors such as age can also affect how the disorder manifests. Recognizing the breadth and complexity of ADHD helps people not only support someone with the disorder but also understand what their options are if they are diagnosed. This timely guide explains the causes, symptoms, and diagnosis of ADHD and covers ongoing research into the disorder, coping strategies, and treatments such as therapy options and medication. Find out more about ADHD and gain resources for understanding, treating, and living with it in Beyond Distraction.

This fully revised ninth edition continues to offer teachers practical advice on new evidence-based approaches for teaching and managing students with a wide range of abilities, disabilities, and difficulties. Based on topical international research from the field, this new edition provides practical advice for teachers and tutors to enable them to adapt evidence-based methods when working in inclusive settings with students with special needs, including gifted and talented students. Throughout the text, approaches to teaching and classroom management have been clearly described. New methods, programmes, and interventions are reviewed, and there is increased coverage of digital technology and e-learning. Teachers will also find support and guidance for working with students with learning difficulties in literacy and numeracy, teaching students with physical, sensory and intellectual disability, fostering students' autonomy, social skills interventions, approaches to autism spectrum disorders, and much more. All new information in every chapter is fully supported with reference to the most recent writing and research. This continues to be an invaluable resource for practising and trainee teachers, tutors, teaching assistants, and other education professionals responsible for supporting students in inclusive schools.

All kids occasionally space out, get sidetracked, run out of time, or explode in frustration--but some do it much more often than others. If you have a "smart but scattered" child, take heart. This encouraging guide is grounded in research on the crucial brain-based skills that 4- to 13-year-olds need to get organized, stay focused, and control their impulses and emotions. The expert authors guide you to identify your child's executive strengths and weaknesses, boost skills that are lacking, fix everyday routines that don't work, and reduce everyone's stress. Including new research, new and updated vignettes, and "A Good Place to Start" suggestions for each skill, the revised and updated second edition features a new chapter on technology and a greatly expanded school chapter. Helpful practical tools can be downloaded and printed. See also the authors' Smart but Scattered Teens, Smart but Scattered--and Stalled (with a focus on emerging adults), and The Smart but Scattered Guide to Success (with a focus on adults).

Young adults with intellectual disability tell the story of their own experience of higher education   How do students with intellectual disability experience higher education? Creating Our Own Lives addresses this question through the eyes of participants themselves. In relating their experiences and aspirations, these student perspectives mount a powerful challenge to assumptions that intellectual disability is best met with protection or segregation.   Taken together, the essays expose and contradict the inherently ableist claim that individuals with intellectual disability cannot be reliable storytellers. Instead, their deeply informative stories serve as a corrective narrative. The first of the four sections, "Laying the Foundation: Why Everyone Belongs in College," focuses on belonging and inclusion; the second, "Opening Up Possibilities: Overcoming Doubt and Uncertainty," conveys the optimism of this generation of advocates through stories of personal hardship, hopeful perseverance, and triumph over adversity; the third, "Inclusion as Action: Diversifying Student Experiences," supports the understanding of diverse student experiences in inclusive higher education; and the fourth, "Supporting Growth: Peer Mentoring and Advice," offers guidance to those reimagining and creating educational spaces.   Students with disabilities belong in higher education. Not only does this book serve as an important record of students enrolled in inclusive higher education programs, it is also an unprecedented resource, packed with information and inspiration both for parents seeking opportunities for their children and for individuals with intellectual disability who aspire to attend college.   Contributors: Makayla Adkins, Olivia Baist, Brandon Baldwin, George Barham, Marquavious Barnes, Katie Bartlett, Steven Brief, De'Onte Brown, Meghan Brozaitis, Mary Bryant, Gracie Carrol, Taylor Cathey, Maia Chamberlain, Antonio E. Contreras, Kim Dean, Elizabeth Droessler, Katie Ducett, Keiron Dyck, Rachel Gomez, Deriq Graves, Micah Gray, Maggie Guillaume, Cleo Hamilton, Nathan Heald, Joshua R. Hourigan, Hannah Lenae Humes, Courtney Jorgensen, Eilish Kelderman, Kailin Kelderman, Kenneth Kelty, Kaelan Knowles, Karlee Lambert, Kate Lisotta, Rachel Mast, Elise McDaniel, Emma Miller, Jake Miller, Lydia Newnum, Brenna Mantz Nielsen, Carly O'Connell, Nadia Osbey, Stirling Peebles, Breyan Pettaway, Amanda Pilkenton, True Rafferty, Taylor Ruppe, Lawrence Sapp, Tyler Shore, Brianna Silva, Alex Smith, Elliott Smith, Phillandra Smith, Payton Storms, Allen Thomas, Kylie Walter, Stephen Wanser, Sayid Webb, Breana Whittlesey, Luke Wilcox, Adam Wolfond.

A groundbreaking collection of first-person writing on the joys and challenges of the modern disability experience- Disability Visibility brings together the voices of activists, authors, lawyers, politicians, artists, and everyday people whose daily lives are, in the words of playwright Neil Marcus, "an art . . . an ingenious way to live.". Edited by MacArthur "Genius Grant" Fellow Alice Wong "Shares perspectives that are too often missing from such decision-making about accessibility."-The Washington Post According to the last census, one in five people in the United States lives with a disability. Some are visible, some are hidden--but all are underrepresented in media and popular culture. Now, just in time for the thirtieth anniversary of the Americans with Disabilities Act, activist Alice Wong brings together an urgent, galvanizing collection of personal essays by contemporary disabled writers.There is Harriet McBryde Johnson's "Unspeakable Conversations," which describes her famous debate with Princeton philosopher Peter Singer over her own personhood. There is columnist s. e. smith's celebratory review of a work of theater by disabled performers. There are original pieces by up-and-coming authors like Keah Brown and Haben Girma. There are blog posts, manifestos, eulogies, and testimonies to Congress. Taken together, this anthology gives a glimpse of the vast richness and complexity of the disabled experience, highlighting the passions, talents, and everyday lives of this community. It invites readers to question their own assumptions and understandings. It celebrates and documents disability culture in the now. It looks to the future and past with hope and love.

Organisation and Everyday Life with Dyslexia and other SpLDs is the second book in the series Living Confidently with Specific Learning Difficulties (SpLDs). This book is about the wide impacts of dyslexia/ SpLD on everyday life. All dyslexic/ SpLD people live with the possibility that their mind will function in a dyslexic/ SpLD way at any moment, regardless of strategies that they have acquired or developed. Even people with many strategies can suddenly find themselves struggling with their dyslexia/ SpLD again. This book is adressed to dyslexic/ spld readers. Organisation is promoted as a tool to minimise the effets of dyselxia /spLD. The book covers: * situations that might disrupt organisation * a systematic approach to organisation * everyday life, study peripherals and employment. It has many life stories to help readers recognise the impacts of their own dyslexia/ SpLD. Dyslexic/ SpLDs have the potential to offer skills and alternative approaches to tasks. Often, the solutions that they devise for themselves are very useful to the non-dyslexic/ SpLD people around them, which can enhance their self-confidence. When organisation suits the individual with SpLD innate intelligence and potential can be realised.

This practical skills guide helps young people with who learn differently including those with dyslexia, DCD/dyspraxia and ADHD, study for their exams. Students who learn differently can often find exams challenging and can experience a good deal of anxiety around exam time, leading to exam results that may not accurately reflect their capabilities. Much exam stress arises from a lack of confidence with the ability to learn and retain information in a meaningful way. This engaging workbook is designed to help students to overcome these issues. It not only shows students how to develop a positive success attitude towards study and exams, but also aims to equip them with powerful strategies and techniques for learning and remembering. The book offers strategies for learners whose methods of learning are multisensory. When learning is active rather than passive, it happens faster, and is easier, more enjoyable and more effective. As you progress through the fun, engaging activities, so your confidence and belief in your ability to learn will increase. Struggling students will become confident, successful learners, with a positive attitude and access to a wide range of effective strategies, and in this way, you will achieve the results in exams that you have worked for and deserve.

A history of design that is often overlooked--until we need it Have you ever hit the big blue button to activate automatic doors? Have you ever used an ergonomic kitchen tool? Have you ever used curb cuts to roll a stroller across an intersection? If you have, then you've benefited from accessible design--design for people with physical, sensory, and cognitive disabilities. These ubiquitous touchstones of modern life were once anything but. Disability advocates fought tirelessly to ensure that the needs of people with disabilities became a standard part of public design thinking. That fight took many forms worldwide, but in the United States it became a civil rights issue; activists used design to make an argument about the place of people with disabilities in public life. In the aftermath of World War II, with injured veterans returning home and the polio epidemic reaching the Oval Office, the needs of people with disabilities came forcibly into the public eye as they never had before. The US became the first country to enact federal accessibility laws, beginning with the Architectural Barriers Act in 1968 and continuing through the landmark Americans with Disabilities Act in 1990, bringing about a wholesale rethinking of our built environment. This progression wasn't straightforward or easy. Early legislation and design efforts were often haphazard or poorly implemented, with decidedly mixed results. Political resistance to accommodating the needs of people with disabilities was strong; so, too, was resistance among architectural and industrial designers, for whom accessible design wasn't "real" design. Bess Williamson provides an extraordinary look at everyday design, marrying accessibility with aesthetic, to provide an insight into a world in which we are all active participants, but often passive onlookers. Richly detailed, with stories of politics and innovation, Williamson's Accessible America takes us through this important history, showing how American ideas of individualism and rights came to shape the material world, often with unexpected consequences.

Written by a world authority on maths difficulties in children, this accessible guide provides tried and tested visual strategies and tailored techniques to help teachers and parents support children with SpLDs who need help with maths. Drawing on the latest research, into areas such as cognition and meta-cognition, along with the authors' decades of teaching experience, the book offers insight into how maths learning difficulties, including dyslexia, dyscalculia and maths anxiety, make maths difficult. Each chapter looks at foundational areas of maths learning that children may struggle with, from early number experiences to basic addition and subtraction, times tables, measurement and more. Essential reading for any teacher, learning assistant or parent supporting children with maths.

In the seventh grade, Todd Rose was suspended-not for the first time-for throwing six stink bombs at the blackboard, where his art teacher stood with his back to the class. At eighteen, he was a high school dropout, stocking shelves at a department store for $4.25 an hour. Today, Rose is a faculty member at the Harvard Graduate School of Education. Square Peg illuminates the struggles of millions of bright young children -- and their frustrated parents and teachers--who are stuck in a one-size-fits-all school system that fails to approach the student as an individual. Rose shares his own incredible journey from troubled childhood to Harvard, seamlessly integrating cutting-edge research in neuroscience and psychology along with advances in the field of education, to ultimately provide a roadmap for parents and teachers of kids who are the casualties of America's antiquated school system. With a distinguished blend of humor, humility, and practical advice for nurturing children who are a poor fit in conventional schools, Square Peg is a game-changing manifesto that provides groundbreaking insight into how we can get the most out of all the students in our classrooms, and why today's dropouts could be tomorrow's innovators.

Why do some children experience literacy difficulties? How can I identify a child with reading and writing challenges? What is the best way to support them in a classroom context? 1 in 8 children will experience some kind of reading difficulty, and while you as a class teacher are not expected to formally assess children or deliver specialist interventions, a good understanding of literacy challenges is crucial for providing optimum educational support. This guide demystifies and disentangles different types of literacy difficulty and explains how they can impact the child's day-to-day classroom functioning and general school life. Chapters include: how to identify children that are struggling; how to work with SpLD teachers and parents so they can be maximally supported; the co-occurrence of literacy difficulties with other learning difficulties such as with maths and attention problems,; alongside practical tips to support each child's learning. Strongly grounded in up-to-date theory and research, this is a perfect companion for classroom teachers of all age levels.

Changing one's diet not only improves physical health, but benefits mood, behaviour and cognitive function at a fundamental level. This book highlights the link between nutrition and mental health and demonstrates the crucial role of diet in supporting individuals with ADHD. Written by an internationally-recognised leader in the growing field of nutritional psychiatry, Dr Rachel Gow takes a nutrition-based look at ADHD and its management. Combining the latest research with the inspirational stories of a range of professionals and individuals whose lives have been touched by the issues raised, this book also includes accessible tips throughout and a chapter of recipes to promote brain health. This is an essential guide to understanding the interplay of brain health and nutrition, and supporting families to build a diet that optimises brain function and health.