Disability Pride Month

This practical skills guide helps young people with who learn differently including those with dyslexia, DCD/dyspraxia and ADHD, study for their exams. Students who learn differently can often find exams challenging and can experience a good deal of anxiety around exam time, leading to exam results that may not accurately reflect their capabilities. Much exam stress arises from a lack of confidence with the ability to learn and retain information in a meaningful way. This engaging workbook is designed to help students to overcome these issues. It not only shows students how to develop a positive success attitude towards study and exams, but also aims to equip them with powerful strategies and techniques for learning and remembering. The book offers strategies for learners whose methods of learning are multisensory. When learning is active rather than passive, it happens faster, and is easier, more enjoyable and more effective. As you progress through the fun, engaging activities, so your confidence and belief in your ability to learn will increase. Struggling students will become confident, successful learners, with a positive attitude and access to a wide range of effective strategies, and in this way, you will achieve the results in exams that you have worked for and deserve.

This manual offers practical strategies and advice for helping children with coordination difficulties. The author explains how to recognize normal and abnormal motor development, when and how to seek help, and includes specific teaching strategies to help children with coordination difficulties succeed in the classroom, playground, and home.

This fully-updated second edition of Helping Children with Dyspraxia has been revised to reflect current practice and developments, providing clear and positive answers to questions commonly asked by parents and teachers about dyspraxia. Maureen Boon draws on her considerable experience of working with children with movement disorders to identify the characteristics of dyspraxia, explaining assessment procedures and identifying what can be done to help. New reflections appear on concepts such as physical literacy and whether or not incidence of dyspraxia has increased, and in an overview of the characteristics and causes of the condition, a comprehensive update on how it is identified and assessed is provided. Terminology is reviewed, and the full range of therapeutic interventions that are available are outlined. New case studies and photographs are used to illustrate successful interventions in practice, and a helpful appendix with up-to-date details of useful publications, programmes, equipment and organisations is also included. Understanding Dyspraxia is a concise yet comprehensive handbook for parents and teachers. Its clear structure and practical, positive advice will make it an invaluable resource for anyone involved with a dyspraxic child.

This book provides a diverse range of basic information and practical advice for adults with dyspraxia. Colley is able to describe in detail the impact that coordination and motor learning difficulties can have on many everyday activities, including cooking, shopping, sewing, gardening and swallowing medicines. This book provides a very readable, comprehensive and useful resource for adults with dyspraxia and their carers. It might also be useful for clinicians who are new to the field and have limited practical experience.' - British Journal of Occupational Therapy 'This concise and interestingly written handbook is aimed at helping dyspraxic adults to understand their condition and its impact on work, study, social relationships and leisure activities. It contains practical tips on everyday living, including voice control, body language, cooking, study skills, driving and self-care. Especially fascinating are the accounts by four dyspraxic adults of their own experiences. I would recommend the book to teachers and parents, student therapists and clinicians (especially those working in a multidisciplinary setting) who need an insight into developmental dyspraxia as experienced by adolescent and adult clients and an overview of the help available.' - Speech and Language Therapy in Practice For people with Developmental Dyspraxia, everyday life can pose a multitude of problems. Tasks the majority of people would find simple can often be taxing and fraught with difficulty. Living with Dyspraxia was written to help all adults with Dyspraxia tackle the everyday situations that many people take for granted. It is full of practical advice on everything from getting a diagnosis to learning how to manage household chores. Important topics are addressed, such as self-esteem, whether to disclose your condition within the workplace, how to communicate more effectively and also how Dyspraxia often interacts with other conditions, such as Dyslexia, ADHD and Asperger's Syndrome. This practical resource will be of use to adults with Dyspraxia, the professionals and families members who come into contact with them as well as those who simply wish to learn more about Dyspraxia.

Helping Children with Dyspraxia provides clear and positive answers to the questions commonly asked by parents and teachers about behaviour, causes, identification and assessment associated with dyspraxia and discusses the range of possible therapeutic interventions. Drawing on her extensive experience of working with children with movement disorders and liasing with their mainstream schools, Maureen Boon shows how a therapeutic approach can benefit this group and how parents and teachers can actively participate in the child's therapy. She provides information and ideas for parents and teachers wanting to improve the child's movements and language abilities and thus increase their self-confidence and self-esteem. Helping Children with Dyspraxia is a concise yet comprehensive handbook for parents and professionals. Its clear structure and practical, positive advice will make it an invaluable resource for anyone involved with a dyspraxic child.