Library Services
eBooks for community college students and individual eBooks purchased by the library to help you with your class assignments and research projects.
This e-book collection contains thousands of high-quality open access (OA) e-books from the world’s most trusted university presses and scholarly publishers.
LearningExpress has ebooks, tutorials, and practice tests to improve academic and workplace skills, explore careers, and prepare for occupational certification exams. It also offers resources to help you prepare for college, join the military, become a U.S. citizen, earn a high school equivalency, and much more.
Exploration of careers in many fields. Each career profile includes a description of the career duties, work environment, educational requirements, and employment outlook.
For years, Dr. Laura Hubbard listened to the stories of adult students with ADHD and co-occurring mental health issues who summoned the courage to enroll in college only to be met with roadblocks and disappointment in their pursuit of a college degree. With limited research on academic support deliberately designed for these specific students, she began a deep dive into the field of complex adult learners. Drawing from her own experiences as well as the experiences of students and fellow professors, she presents a highly specialized program to meet the needs of these adults.
In Perspectives on Academic Support: Adults with ADHD and Mental Health Challenges, Hubbard relates the struggles of adult students with ADHD and co-occurring mental health issues to help transform the landscape of higher education. Utilizing the perspective of students, and the professors who support them, Hubbard teaches students and professors how to meaningfully engage in transformative practices of support, offering students, families, and educators a path forward.
Are you dreaming of studying in the United States but don't know where to begin? "Mission: Accepted! U.S. College Admissions for International Students" is the ultimate guide to navigating the complexities of American college admissions. This comprehensive handbook reveals what colleges truly look for and provides actionable strategies that will make your application stand out. "Mission: Accepted!" offers guidance on key components like academics, essays, extracurricular activities, and letters of recommendation. It demystifies the financial aspects of studying in the States, explains the process of obtaining a student visa, and features an exclusive section on California's public universities. Authored by a European immigrant, this book offers a valuable outside perspective on the unique aspects of American college admissions. Equip yourself with the essential knowledge to transform your dream of studying in the U.S. into reality. Your journey to securing a spot in an American college starts here with "Mission: Accepted!"
Higher education is facing a mental health crisis. Life of the Mind Interrupted guides us through it. While calls for improved accessibility and inclusion in the workplace have gained momentum in recent years, for millions of people who are neurodivergent or struggle with their mental health, the quest for acceptance often happens in the shadows-if at all. In this collection of deeply personal yet relatable essays, Dr. Katie Rose Pryal, a bipolar-autistic lawyer, professor, and speaker traces her own journey alongside that of other neurodivergent people in in higher education, and how they faced many challenges. It provides advice for everyone in higher education communities, on topics such as: Quests for accommodationsManaging career fearsCoping with stigmaNurturing allyship As hopeful as it is revealing, Life of the Mind Interrupted is an essential addition to the conversation on inclusion of neurodiversity in the workplace and beyond.
This teaching and learning guide presents 12 essential lessons designed to boost your study and learning skills.
Transform your college dreams into reality with this dynamic self-help guide tailored specifically for international students! Packed with insider tips, proven strategies, and inspiring success stories, this comprehensive book demystifies the college admissions process from start to finish. Learn how to navigate complex applications, excel in standardized tests, and craft a standout personal statement that captures your unique strengths and experiences. Discover how to select the perfect school that aligns with your ambitions and academic goals. Featuring exclusive insights and a personal statement that successfully secured admissions to top-tier institutions like NYU, Duke, and the Ivy Leagues, this guide offers a roadmap to achieving your college aspirations. Whether you're aiming for prestigious universities or other top-notch schools, this essential resource equips you with the tools and confidence needed to make your college dreams a reality. Perfect for ambitious international students ready to take the next big step in their educational journey!
Visibly (and Invisibly) Muslim on Grounds: Classroom, Culture, and Community at the University of Virginia offers a unique insight into the experience of Muslim students studying and living on an elite university campus. The powerful stories shared by these students, however, will no doubt resonate across all campuses across the United States. In these pages, you will not only hear students speak about the impact of direct and subtle Islamophobia but about how these same students respond by building communities of support. And you will understand how pathways toward inclusion and understanding can be created across a university campus. Throughout, you witness students navigating difficult circumstances with the insight, care, and understanding too often missing from mainstream news coverage. As such, this book is vital reading for university administrators and professors.
As the transfer disparity persists among Latina/o/x community college students and continues to widen for those seeking to complete their baccalaureate degree, we asked ourselves three questions: (1) How do Latina/o/x community college students navigate the transfer preparation and decision-making process? (2) Once at the university, how do Latina/o/x transfer students negotiate their identities and lived experiences as they persist towards graduation and beyond? (3) What policies, practices, and programs at both two-and four-year institutions facilitate access, persistence, and completion for Latina/o/x community college/transfer students? These reflections prompted us to seek answers. This is the first edited book to provide much needed theoretical and empirical insights on Latina/o/x students who enter postsecondary education through the community college. Our book offers a comprehensive outlook on the pre- and post-transfer experiences of Latina/o/x students written by scholars and scholar practitioners working in the field of higher education. In addition, we include specific sections that speak directly to policies, practices, and theory that address transfer pathways for Latina/o/x community college and transfer students.
The ultimate student life guide now with an updated and expanded edition that includes tips and tricks to managing the latest technologies, saving money, and maintaining and improving physical and mental health, perfect for any student looking to ace their college experience. College Hacks: Updated and Expanded is the essential guide for every college student. Whether you're preparing for an exam, aiming to be the beer pong champ, or trying to remove a stubborn stain before an interview, this book has you covered. This 10th anniversary edition has been fully updated to keep pace with the latest technology and trends. It introduces innovative ways to make college life easier, from leveraging AI to saving time (and money) on campus. It also includes new chapters on health and wellness providing everyday hacks to help you maintain and improve your psychical and mental wellbeing throughout your college career. Packed with hundreds of tips to simplify nearly every situation, College Hacks: Updated and Expanded offers practical advice on everything from tackling lengthy assignments to dealing with a messy dorm room. With these life hacks, you'll breeze through each semester, finishing assignments and tasks quicker than ever before.
"Why College Matters to God is a brief, easy-to-read introduction to the unique purpose of a Christian college education. It has been widely used by Christian colleges and universities over the past decade because of its unsurpassed ability to be substantive yet accessible. The book draws on the insights of a wide range of Christian philosophers, theologians, historians, and scientists, but communicates key concepts in straightforward language that connects with a general audience. Brief enough to be paired with other texts, Why College Matters to God is an ideal introduction to the why and how of Christian learning for students, faculty, staff, and parents. The third edition preserves the qualities of the previous editions along with updated illustrations and new material on important topics such as: Christian learning and the challenges of technology, Christian vocation, career preparation, and the liberal arts, Diversity and civility on campus, and The habits of the highly effective college student.
Exposes the forgotten origins of the student loan system, how politicians have attempted to fix it, and the life-altering damage borrowers face. Student-loan horror stories are a dime a dozen. But students today are faced with a seemingly insurmountable paradox: Research consistently shows that the clearest viable option to financial stability is a college degree. But if and when Americans decide to pursue diplomas, student loan payments quickly follow, and even after securing full-time employment, many borrowers struggle to make ends meet for years. In Sunk Cost, journalist Jillian Berman explores how the nation's student loan program went from a well-intentioned initiative aimed at helping low- and middle-income students afford college to one that traps borrowers in long-term debt. Berman interviewed dozens of borrowers and policymakers and dug into the archives to unearth the true causes of the student loan problem. A couple of generations ago, policy makers generously subsidized Americans' college educations because they knew it would be advantageous for the entire country: a more educated population meant better quality of life for all. But today, higher education is viewed as an individual goal, so students and their families are expected to be on the hook for it themselves. Berman explains how this enormous shift happened, which industries benefit from it, and what it means for college-going Americans today. She shares real-life stories of college graduates who are being crushed under some of the harshest consequences of the student loan system. These borrowers pursued higher education in hopes of a better life and yet some have been trapped in debt for decades, making it difficult to put food on the table, much less imagine a life beyond debt. By connecting personal accounts to the policy history of student loans, Berman makes clear that if American society continues to push students toward higher education, but fails to truly subsidize it, the financial strain will become unbearable for all but the most privileged. The current system is broken, but Berman proposes that significant changes are possible, and will require political will from state lawmakers and Congress, along with a philosophical shift, to tackle one of the largest consumer finance challenges of our time.
The most important thing you can do in college is grow into your future self--and feel strong and supported while doing so. For many college students, their first year on their own means their first experience truly taking care of themselves. Navigating classes, exams, essays, schedules, and life after high school--it can be a lot. And sometimes, well-being can get lost in the shuffle. This handy little guide is a source of tips, tools, and moments of reflection to help college-bound new grads stay grounded as they start the next phase of their lives. Featuring tried-and-true advice from current and former college students, inspirational quotes, and beautiful watercolor illustrations, each page offers a little pick-me-up for college students dealing with stress and uncertainty--along with a reminder that they are never alone.
This volume documents the experiences of international students and recent international initiatives at US community colleges to better understand how to support and nurture students' potential. Offering a range of case studies, empirical and conceptual chapters, the collection showcases the unique curricula and diverse opportunities for career development that colleges can offer international students. International Students at US Community Colleges addresses issues of student access, enrollment barriers, college choice, and challenges relating to integration in academic and professional networks. Ultimately, the book unpacks institutional factors which inhibit or promote the success of international students at US community colleges to inform faculty, student affairs, administration, and institutional policy. With international students' declining enrollment, this book considers the measures being taken by community college officials to bring continued access and equity to international students. Offering insights from a range of international scholars as well as on-the-ground case studies, this text will benefit researchers, academics, and educators with an interest in multicultural education, international and comparative education, and higher education management. Those specifically interested in educational policy and the sociology of education will also benefit from this book.
What If I Told You College Could Be FREE? Sounds like a scam, right? Except it's not. The student loan industry WANTS you to believe debt is inevitable--but that's just not true. There's an entire underground world of legal loopholes, hidden scholarships, and financial tricks that can help you graduate without a single cent of student loan debt. In "Zero Debt College Blueprint," finance strategist Cash Kingston reveals the step-by-step system he used to fund his entire degree without paying a dime. These aren't your typical "apply for scholarships" tips--this is an insider's guide to gaming the system and outsmarting the colleges that try to nickel-and-dime you. What You'll Discover Inside: ✅ The "Invisible" Scholarships: Billions of dollars in FREE money that 90% of students never even apply for (because they don't know they exist). ✅ The Credit-Hour Loophole: How to cut your tuition bill in half using a little-known course credit hack. ✅ College's Dirty Secret: The shocking way universities inflate tuition costs--and how to fight back. ✅ The "Debt-Free Degree" Masterplan: The exact steps to graduate without borrowing a single penny. You don't need rich parents. You don't need perfect grades. You just need the right playbook. Don't fall for the student loan trap. Grab your ticket to a debt-free future NOW.
From the bestselling author of College Unbound comes a hopeful, inspiring blueprint to help alleviate parents' anxiety and prepare their college-educated child to successfully land a good job after graduation. Saddled with thousands of dollars of debt, today's college students are graduating into an uncertain job market that is leaving them financially dependent on their parents for years to come--a reality that has left moms and dads wondering: What did I pay all that money for? There Is Life After College offers students, parents, and even recent graduates the practical advice and insight they need to jumpstart their careers. Education expert Jeffrey Selingo answers key questions--Why is the transition to post-college life so difficult for many recent graduates? How can graduates market themselves to employers that are reluctant to provide on-the-job training? What can institutions and individuals do to end the current educational and economic stalemate?--and offers a practical step-by-step plan every young professional can follow. From the end of high school through college graduation, he lays out exactly what students need to do to acquire the skills companies want. Full of tips, advice, and insight, this wise, practical guide will help every student, no matter their major or degree, find real employment--and give their parents some peace of mind.
How many of us have found ourselves hampered in our work and at home because we can't take a balanced view. If this is you then you're probably a lop-sided left or right brain person. This imbalance shows in other ways too: some of us suffer social embarrassment because of poor muscular co-ordination. Some even fall asleep at inconvenient times! Increasingly too we demand more of our students and sports people who need to operate to their optimum potential. To be an active learner and a whole person, why no try Educational Kinesiology, a method of integrating left and right brain processes? Put simply, the techniques in Switch on Your Brain will improve your left and right brain co-ordination. The exciting thing is that you can see results quickly - in some cases, immediately. The tests and exercises can be done at home. Easy to use, they are safe for all to try. By increasing our capacity to learn, we can all improve our performance and enhance our self-esteem. Switch on Your Brain has helped many people change their lives, especially those with obvious learning difficulties, and the efficacy of this approach has been proved over many years.
Peterson's® Master the™ Nursing School and Allied Health Entrance Exams is a comprehensive source that offers the essential test prep needed for the RN, PN, and allied health entrance exams. This easy-to-use guide provides in-depth review of the basic facts, principles, and concepts of all nursing entrance exam subject areas. In addition, there are several tests for each subject area to help test-takers become familiar with exam questions and improve their test-taking skills. Essential review of subjects covered on the NLN PAX-RN and PAX-PN; PSB-RN, PSB-PN, and PSB-HO; and NET and TEAS 3 Diagnostic Tests—one each for the RN, PN, and Allied Health exams, to assess your strengths and weaknesses Practice tests in each subject area, with more than 2,200 questions with detailed answer explanations Comprehensive content review aligned with current test plans for the PAX, PSB-RN, PSB-PN, PSB-HO, and TEAS exams Up-to-date information on financing your education and selecting career paths in nursing and allied health care.
For most teens, graduating from high school feels like a finish line. But choosing which path to take next can be overwhelming. It helps to become informed about the options and know how to narrow them down to fit your personal goals. Filled with practical advice about preparing for the future now, deciding whether or not to pursue post-high school education, paying for college or career training, and setting goals along the way to make the journey easier, this book covers career planning, the cost of education, and how to approach the future with a mindset that will set you on the right path.
There are many career options for people who like the creative arts. This book explores what it's like to be a music producer, graphic designer, interior designer, and writer. Job descriptions, required training, tips for getting started, and future directions for each career are included.
There are many career options for people who like sports. This book explores what it's like to be a sportscaster, athletic director, exercise physiologist, and someone working in public relations for the sports industry. Job descriptions, training required, tips for getting started, and future directions of each career are included.
There are many career options for people who like social media. This book explores what it's like to be a content creator, social media manager, customer service representative, and digital forensics investigator. Job descriptions, required training, tips for getting started, and future directions for each career are included.
There are many career options for people who like gaming. This book explores what it's like to be a video game artist, animator, video game writer, and programmer. Job descriptions, required training, tips for getting started, and future directions for each career are included.
Finding a job can be overwhelming, even for a seasoned professional. For first-time job applicants, it can be even harder not knowing the ins and outs of job searching and applications. From determining what jobs are available to balancing work and school, you can approach your first job search informed about the working world and with skills to present yourself as a dependable and valuable worker. This book is filled with practical advice about searching for job opportunities, creating a marketable résumé, preparing for interviews, and learning how to be a professional in any setting. Learn about the job application process, the importance of professionalism, and how to use a first job to build a life-long career.
Quotes and examples from individuals working in math-related fields show students what a typical workday is like for an actuary, physicist, economist, and others. Educational requirements, skills, and working conditions are presented. Includes an interview with a financial analyst and a list of dozens of additional math-focused career options.
Many possible careers could be good choices for young people with a passion for music. Exploring Careers in Music profiles six careers: background singer, booking agent, DJ, music teacher, music therapist, and session musician, delving into what each job entails, how to prepare for it, and what its future prospects are. Readers will discover some satisfying ways to make money while being creative and making other people's lives better.
This book establishes a strong foundation by explaining core concepts like operating systems, networking, and databases. Understanding these systems forms the bedrock for comprehending security threats and vulnerabilities. The book gives aspiring information security professionals the knowledge and skills to confidently land their dream job in this dynamic field.This beginner-friendly cybersecurity guide helps you safely navigate the digital world. The reader will also learn about operating systems like Windows, Linux, and UNIX, as well as secure server management. We will also understand networking with TCP/IP and packet analysis, master SQL queries, and fortify databases against threats like SQL injection. Discover proactive security with threat modeling, penetration testing, and secure coding. Protect web apps from OWASP/SANS vulnerabilities and secure networks with pentesting and firewalls. Finally, explore cloud security best practices using AWS to identify misconfigurations and strengthen your cloud setup.The book will prepare you for cybersecurity job interviews, helping you start a successful career in information security. The book provides essential techniques and knowledge to confidently tackle interview challenges and secure a rewarding role in the cybersecurity field.