College & Career Research Guide

Quotes and examples from individuals working in math-related fields show students what a typical workday is like for an actuary, physicist, economist, and others. Educational requirements, skills, and working conditions are presented. Includes an interview with a financial analyst and a list of dozens of additional math-focused career options.

Provides detailed and need-to-know information on various careers in the highly specialized world of earth science and its many facets. Each chapter provides a wealth of real-world information including A Day in the Life, Work Environment, Education & Training, Earnings & Advancement, Employment Outlook, and Conversations with Real Professionals, as well as contacts for more information. Many different types of in-demand careers are available within this wide-ranging industry, from agricultural engineer to zoologist. This volume offers insight into what it's like to work in the field or in support positions related to earth science. Readers who are interested in pursuing a career in this exciting industry will find the wide variety of job profiles included in this volume beneficial.

Provides detailed and need-to-know information on various careers in dealing with fish and wildlife in both natural habitats and captivity. Each chapter provides a wealth of real-world information including A Day in the Life, Work Environment, Education & Training, Earnings & Advancement, Employment Outlook, and Conversations with Real Professionals, as well as contacts for more information.

Careers in Biotechnology provides detailed and need-to-know information on various careers in the realm of biotechnology. Each chapter provides a wealth of real-world information including A Day in the Life, Work Environment, Education & Training, Earnings & Advancement, Employment Outlook, and Conversations with Real Professionals, as well as contacts for more information.

Broadly speaking, engineers design and build machines, structures, and systems. Its four main branches are chemical engineering, civil engineering, electrical engineering, and mechanical engineering. Other significant branches include aerospace engineering, marine engineering, and computer engineering, so students with a career in engineering in mind have a lot to consider when choosing their career path.

Biology is the natural science that studies life and living organisms. A career in biology can mean the study of evolution, the study of health and disease, the study of the preservation of the natural environment, the study of pollen, or the study of animal behavior, to name a few. Biologists can work in a classroom, in a laboratory, on a farm, or under the ocean, so someone who is interested in a career in this field has many options to choose from.

Offers practical career guidance to all engineers, covering everything from early education through to retirement Provides a big-picture view of the engineering profession, citing examples from both the author's life and the lives of his associates Guides engineers in a systematic way on how to make good career decisions Discusses the ethics of engineering, presenting concepts and tips that can be applied to engineers all over the world Written in the form of personal, conversation-style letters perfect for quick and easy comprehension

What can you do with a degree in math? This book addresses this question with 125 career profiles written by people with degrees and backgrounds in mathematics. With job titles ranging from sports analyst to science writer to inventory specialist to CEO, the volume provides ample evidence that one really can do nearly anything with a degree in mathematics. These professionals share how their mathematical education shaped their career choices and how mathematics, or the skills acquired in a mathematics education, is used in their daily work. The degrees earned by the authors profiled here are a good mix of bachelors, masters, and PhDs. With 114 completely new profiles since the third edition, the careers featured within accurately reflect current trends in the job market. College mathematics faculty, high school teachers, and career counselors will all find this a useful resource. Career centers, mathematics departments, and student lounges should have a copy available for student browsing. In addition to the career profiles, the volume contains essays from career counseling professionals on the topics of job-searching, interviewing, and applying to graduate school.

Students looking to pursue a career that takes them out of the office and puts them directly into nature can look to several careers that build on an interest in the natural sciences, ecology, the environment, historical preservation, archaeology, and agriculture. This volume provides need-to-know information on various careers that put a whole new spin on the idea of ""working in the field."" Careers Outdoors provides detailed information on 24 different career paths, including: Landscape Architect or Gardener Land Surveyor Archeologist Golf Instruction Lifeguard Forest Ranger Farmer Rancher Carpenter Miner Commercial Fisherman Carnival & Festival Organizers Each chapter provides a wealth of real-world information including A Day in the Life, Work Environment, Education & Training, Earnings & Advancement, Employment Outlook, Networking Contacts, Areas with the Highest Employment Levels, and Coversations with Real Professionals.

This ongoing series serves as a stepping stone in understanding specific careers and provides a wealth of information on the education and training needed within each profession along with a look towards the future of the field with an informative employment outlook.