College & Career Research Guide

Who works for the government and why does their work matter? An urgent and absorbing civics lesson from an all-star team of writers and storytellers. The government is a vast, complex system that Americans pay for, rebel against, rely upon, dismiss, and celebrate. It's also our shared resource for addressing the biggest problems of society. And it's made up of people, mostly unrecognized and uncelebrated, doing work that can be deeply consequential and beneficial to everyone. Michael Lewis invited his favorite writers, including Casey Cep, Dave Eggers, John Lanchester, Geraldine Brooks, Sarah Vowell, and W. Kamau Bell, to join him in finding someone doing an interesting job for the government and writing about them. The stories they found are unexpected, riveting, and inspiring, including a former coal miner devoted to making mine roofs less likely to collapse, saving thousands of lives; an IRS agent straight out of a crime thriller; and the manager who made the National Cemetery Administration the best-run organization, public or private, in the entire country. Each essay shines a spotlight on the essential behind-the-scenes work of exemplary federal employees. Whether they're digitizing archives, chasing down cybercriminals, or discovering new planets, these public servants are committed to their work and universally reluctant to take credit. Expanding on the Washington Post series, the vivid profiles in Who Is Government? blow up the stereotype of the irrelevant bureaucrat. They show how the essential business of government makes our lives possible, and how much it matters.

Provides a thorough introduction to the wide range of career opportunities available to those interested pursuing a rewarding career related to travel & adventure, including everything from adult basic education teacher to zoologist.

Provides a thorough introduction to the wide range of career opportunities available to those interested in the many areas of this influential industry, from arbitrator to tax examiner, and everything in between.

EmTech Anthropology: Careers at the Frontier emphasizes anthropology's critical role at the frontier of emerging technologies (EmTech). The book delves into the possibilities and opportunities that arise from the convergence of anthropology and emerging technology, highlighting the potential benefits for both.

Careers in intelligence & national security provides detailed and need-to-know information on various careers in the secretive intelligence sphere. Each chapter provides a wealth of real-world information including A Day in the life, Work environment, Education & training, Earnings & advancement, Employment outlook, and Conversations with real professionals, as well as contacts for more information.

Many children dream of becoming great explorers, discovering ancient artefacts and lost civilizations. Few will become a real-life Indiana Jones, but there is no shortage of interesting career paths in the fields of archaeology and museum services, and related areas, to which these inquisitive minds can aspire. Some of these include: anthropologist, archeologist, archivist, curator, geoscientist, historian, museum worker, and sociologist. This book provides detailed and need-to-know information on various careers in the fields of archeology, museum service, and adjacent occupations. Each chapter provides a wealth of real-world information including A Day in the Life, work environment, education & training, earnings & advancement, employment outlook, and conversations with real professionals, as well as contacts for more information.

Picking up where Exploring and Understanding Careers in Criminal Justice, left off, Matthew J. Sheridan and Thomas J. Lalka provide an updated guide for the novice and professional alike. The chapters are crafted to provide essential information to guide the job seeker from entrance into the profession, through career development, occupational refocus, professional options, to retirement preparation. Taking into consideration the effects of the pandemic, current social unrest, and recent tragedies, the authors examine how the "new normal" will bring change and opportunities throughout criminal justice careers. With an emphasis on planning, personal development, and preparation this book outlines career paths that can provide rewards for satisfaction during and after careers. On top of invaluable information on a variety of specific careers, this book also includes sixteen appendices that cover successful job hunting, internships, a guide to interview questions, a document portfolio checklist, paying for college, and profiles of 18 professionals in criminal justice field from a parole officer to a correctional architect. This is an excellent resource for students, faculty, advisors, and classroom instruction for guidance into a successful criminal justice career that will be loved, from first employment to retirement.

Exploring Careers in Cybersecurity and Digital Forensics is a one-stop shop for students and advisors, providing information about education, certifications, and tools to guide them in making career decisions within the field. Cybersecurity is a fairly new academic discipline and with the continued rise in cyberattacks, the need for technological and non-technological skills in responding to criminal digital behavior, as well as the requirement to respond, investigate, gather and preserve evidence is growing. Exploring Careers in Cybersecurity and Digital Forensics is designed to help students and professionals navigate the unique opportunity that a career in digital forensics and cybersecurity provides. From undergraduate degrees, job hunting and networking, to certifications and mid-career transitions, this book is a useful tool to students, advisors, and professionals alike. Lucy Tsado and Robert Osgood help students and school administrators understand the opportunity that exists in the cybersecurity and digital forensics field, provide guidance for students and professionals out there looking for alternatives through degrees, and offer solutions to close the cybersecurity skills gap through student recruiting and retention in the field.

Forensic science is the application of science to the legal field, including criminal and civil laws, during criminal investigation. Forensic scientists -- also called criminalists -- perform chemical and physical research on evidence submitted by law enforcement agencies, including handwriting analysis to confirm the validity of a signature on a will, or examining a firearm, and the growth of technology has expanded the field. These professionals also provide testimony in courts of law. Careers in Forensic Science draws from many specialists, including toxicologists, attorneys, pathologists, biologists, dentists, toxicologists, document examiners, psychiatrists, anthropologists, criminalists, educators, digital and multimedia scientists, engineers and applied scientists. Humanitarian and human rights workers also have a place in the field and are recognized by the Academy of Forensic Sciences.

Welcome to the criminal justice field! If you are interested in a career in criminal justice, you've come to the right book. So what exactly do these people do on the job, day in and day out? What kind of skills and educational background do you need to succeed in this field? How much can you expect to make, and what are the pros and cons of these various professions? Is this even the right career path for you? How do you avoid burnout and deal with stress? This book can help you answer these questions and more. Criminal Justice Professionals: A Practical Career Guide, which includes interviews with professionals in the field, covers the following areas of this field that have proven to be stable, lucrative, and growing professions. Security guards/officerCorrectional officerParole/probation officerPolice officers/detectivesCriminal court prosecutors/judges